The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sites do not load after IP change

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by imrjustin, Apr 12, 2014.

  1. imrjustin

    imrjustin Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After we assign a dedicated IP to websites, we run into a problem. Users cannot access webpages without either placing https://* in front or www.* in front. Simply trying to access the site via http://domain.com loads cpanels default webpage instead of the actual sites homepage. We've rebuild Apache's configuration file by running /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf and that didn't solve anything, we also flushed all our DNS's. Any ideas?
     
  2. LDHosting

    LDHosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is the IP change something that was done recently (past 24 hours or so)? If so, it may well be that the DNS changes are still propagating and you are visiting the site on the old IP address.

    Type the domain into intoDNS . Does it return any errors? Does it report the correct (new) IP address?
     
  3. imrjustin

    imrjustin Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it was done less than 24 hours ago. However, DNS isn't the problem. If we ping the site via Terminal, the correct IP appears. We've also done a DNS lookup and all the information found there is correct. I noticed that the site will load if you enter "https://site.com", "https://www.site.com", or "http://www.site.com." Only http://site.com doesn't load.
     
  4. Serra

    Serra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Florida
    Have you tried accessing on a phone or computer that hasn't been to the site before? Sounds like a local cache problem. Sometime it is just impossible to get to a site when the IP changes because it is stuck in the PC's cache.

    You can try clearing the cache with something like CCleaner, but their is no guarantee that will work. Normally, you'll get some kind of cPanel screen that makes it look like there is an error on the server, but really it is just a silly cache issue.
     
  5. craigly

    craigly Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, Same problem for me. Please help me for this type of problem.
     
  6. imrjustin

    imrjustin Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Serra was right. It was a local cache problem. It's solved now. Thank you.
     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page