Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

size of php error_log

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by prakashnplink, Apr 10, 2016.

  1. prakashnplink

    prakashnplink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello, I see many php error_log in my server which is of size more than 500M, sometimes 2.3G too. Isn't there anyway to limit this php error_log file?

    For example:

    /home/user1/public_html/Blogs/error_log
    /home3/user2/public_html/some/other/location/error_log
    /home/user2/public_html/administrator/error_log
     
  2. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,888
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    There isn't a tweak or any tool to cull the size of error_log files created in /home/username/public_html directory. You will have to setup weekly cron to cleat error logs files of your all user, Please give a try with the following cron.

    Code:
    for i in `find /home/*/public_html -type f -name error_log` ;do >$i ;done
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. prakashnplink

    prakashnplink Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    @aaronbrad thanks but I dont think it will work as I am not sure about the exact path of error_log. @24x7server I think I can use it. But it will be good if cpanel provide some feature for it. @cPanelMichael Thanks, I missed that plus there was no fruitful info.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,809
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Feel free to open a feature request for that functionality via:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice