The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

skip-name-resolve mysql

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by sahostking, Feb 4, 2017.

  1. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Has anyone successfully using skip-name-resolve to optimize mysql? I remember enabling this caused issues for phpmyadmin before. Is this still the case?
     
  2. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    nevermind I just tried it on some servers and its working well.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Keep in mind that cPanel isn't designed or tested with the skip-name-resolve option enabled in the /etc/my.cnf file , and it can break certain functionality.

    Thanks!
     
  4. sahostking

    sahostking Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    It used to break phpmyadmin but for some reason its not doing so on any of our servers this time round. We last tried it if I am correct 2 years ago. But its seems to be fine this time round and is working well.

    Haven't found anything yet that is broken and its 2 days and we have a few thousand clients which would have caused some complaints by now we would've noticed in the next day if that was an issue.

    So we happy for now with having it enabled.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,064
    Likes Received:
    1,287
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @sahostking,

    It's mostly noticeable when using a remote MySQL server, during account transfers and restorations, and with phpMyAdmin. You might not notice any issues when using MySQL on the local server, but keep in mind it's usage remains unsupported.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page