The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow Cpanel/not working

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nicmo, Aug 19, 2004.

  1. nicmo

    nicmo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey

    recently my cpanel is not working... whm works fine but when i try to use cpanel it asks me for user/pass as normal but then it takes forverer to load... loads a bit of the page after 10mins and then timesout... is there a way i can "reset"/"restart" cpanel? is this a knowned problem?

    also... using whm as root if i click phpmyadmin it says invalid user/password :/

    so my clients are pretty pissed they dont have cpanel working :(
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Make sure that you don't have the following ticked:
    WHM > Tweak Settings > Try to resolve each client's ip to a domain name when a user connects to WHM/cPanel/cppop
     
  3. nicmo

    nicmo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i havent change anything it was working fine 1 week ago... and now its not and yes that box is unchecked.

    i did a servide cpanel restart

    still nothing.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You could raise a support request with cPanel. though first I'd certainly try the following to make sure you have a complete cPanel installation:

    /scripts/upcp --force
     
  5. nicmo

    nicmo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    didnt work :/

    i mean the update and re install worked but still have the same problem.
     
    #5 nicmo, Aug 20, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2004
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    SSH into your server and start running top. Then log into coanel and watch to see if anything is taking excessive load while it is loading.
     
  7. nicmo

    nicmo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cpanel support solved it, there was a remote mysql setup wich was a dead server and that was causing the page to timeout when loading, thnk you anyway.
     
  8. rascal2trust

    rascal2trust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Having the same problem here, it would be nice to have a little more info on what the cause is and how to find.

    Jim
     
  9. cybernux

    cybernux Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To restart cpanel try /etc/rc.d/init.d/cpanel restart

    To fix phpmyadmin delete " between user & password
    login w/ root vi .my.cnf

    cybernux
     
  10. rascal2trust

    rascal2trust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    That is not going to work, we have reinstalled cpanel about 4 times, and with different versions, we are not having a problem with the php part, WHM loads fine, but any cpanel account you try to log into just sits forever, does not load. Really would like some help on this one. How would I find if there were a remote mysql setup on the server.

    Jim
     
  11. cybernux

    cybernux Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    After type domain.com/cpanel
    where the port pointing ?

    domain.com:2082 or other
     
  12. nicmo

    nicmo Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i had the problem because i set up a remote mysql server on a dead server so when i loaded cpanel he could not retreive the mysql database stats... so it hang.
     
  13. Stephanie_R

    Stephanie_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem here on one of our servers.
    Page just hangs on port 2082,2083, domain.com/cpanel
    Top shows the username/cpanel running at 100% CPU, I restarted SQL reinstalled cpanel, restarted apache, checked the firewall, restarted apf but no joy :(

    One thing I did notice is that the URL it's trying to access is the X theme when the actual skin is monsoon, but changing the skin in WHM didn't work.

    I'm gonna wake up the senior admin in a bit and see what he has to say about it, when I find out I'll post on here :)
     
  14. rascal2trust

    rascal2trust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Pleae do let me know what you find, as I did put in a ticket but have heard nothing from cpanel on this issue, this client is ready to cancel, and I do not blame him, I think I would have already. I see the same thing in top as you are seeing when trying to access cpanel the cpu is showing around 90% for that user that is trying to access cpanel.

    Jim
     
  15. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, this is a first.

    Cpanel is so slow not even loading on some sites.

    The cpu is maxed everytime I try to access any accounts cpanel.

    I tried removing the remote mysql database but it's still slow.

    :mad:
     
  16. rvskin

    rvskin Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Does it slow for all hosting accounts or just few accounts?
    If you logged in with root/reseller password, when cPanel loading the other accounts jump box it cause the slowness.
     
  17. baang

    baang Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    it happed to all hosting accounts on my servers too. need help much for this problem :(
     
  18. Chaos

    Chaos Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Same issue here on all accounts. Takes about 10 minutes to load the cpanel, and the top images don't display. Trying to view one of them gives failed due to errors in gif. If I access a clients cpanel via WHM, it loads fine. Can't find the issue....
     
  19. jdonoso

    jdonoso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    The Third Rock from The Sun!
    What version of cPanel are you running? I am on latest Release (cPanel 9.9.9 R-70) and no problem with speed accesing cPanel.

    Best,
     
  20. Chaos

    Chaos Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    9.9.9-CURRENT 113
    PHP 4.3.10
    mySQL 4.0.23-standard
    cPanel X v2.5.0
     
Loading...

Share This Page