The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow downloading

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by welchb, Oct 14, 2006.

  1. welchb

    welchb Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    When I access cpanel from my home computer, it takes a VERY LONG time to appear on the screen, but when I use my laptop or office computer, it loads quickly. Does anyone else have this problem or had this problem? Are there known programs that may slow down loading of cpanel?

    Thanks,

    :(
     
  2. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Um, its your ISP and/or your computer if it loads fine other places.
     
  3. welchb

    welchb Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I'm pretty sure it's my computer. Any ideas on what to do? I'm running Zone Alarm, but it
    is also running on my office computer & that works fine.
     
  4. chris8lunch

    chris8lunch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Get a brand new faster computer + cable internet. I prefer Comcast.
     
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36

    Try adding your cpanel domain into your firewall permissions. Also, clear out your browser cache as you may be loading a broke page that never gets updated and delete offline browser files.

    Also look in your firewall if you have any alerts relating to cpanel and its domain. If so, delete it and access cpanel again to allow it to ask for permission.

    In my past experience from clients using zone alarm, I know merely disabling it for testing may not relase appropriate rules until the computer is rebooted.
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Setting the browser cache to a smaller size may help as well. IE comes default set to several hundred MB. Set that down to 60 or so. Also set it to dump Temporary Internet Files when you close the browser.

    If you're getting to the site albiet slowly, I doubt ZA is the problem.

    My 2
     
Loading...

Share This Page