Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Slow initial connection on cPanel server

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by celiac101, May 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. celiac101

    celiac101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I've been tweaking my server to make it faster, and have been very successful so far. It is a very busy server with ~1.2M unique monthly visitors.

    One problem I am having that I cannot figure out, is that there is a slow initial connection to the server, but after that all pages load fast, ~3 seconds, and given the age of the hardware and size of the databases this seems pretty decent. The initial connection can take as long as 7-8 seconds, however, and I can't pin down why.

    Any ideas would be appreciated. Below is my setup.

    ~130 gigs of memory
    PHP Version 7.0.30
    MySQL Version 5.5.5-10.1.33-MariaDB
    default-storage-engine=MyISAM
    Memcached
    Apache handler: PHP-FPM
    Server version: Apache/2.4.33 (cPanel)
    Apache MPM Event
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,740
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    celiac101 likes this.
  3. celiac101

    celiac101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Excellent, I did learn a lot from those threads, and litespeed seems to be a consistent recommendation to solve this issue. Does anyone know if it would conflict with memcache or mod security? I have no idea how litespeed works, or what it could conflict with.

    Another common recommendation is Nginx. I have the same questions about it, would it conflict with anything like memcache or mod security?

    Can you run both Nginx and litespeed? Is one better than the other?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,740
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. celiac101

    celiac101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm having trouble locating the LiteSpeed plugin in my cPanel. I don't see it in in Softacalus. Where is it located?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,173
    Likes Received:
    371
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You'll need root access to the server to install Litespeed. It's not installed to a single cPanel account via Softaculous.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. celiac101

    celiac101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    So two posts ago one of your other staff members said:

    "I recommend using LiteSpeed over Nginx, as LiteSpeed offers an official plugin for use with cPanel."

    So I guess I'm wondering what you guys mean by "plugin"? If I have to install it via command line, which I can do because I'm the server admin, then I certainly would not call it "an official plugin for use with cPanel."

    In any case, I guess I'm asking how to install it.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,740
    Likes Received:
    1,796
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @celiac101,

    To clarify, I was referring to the cPanel & WHM server environment. It's still a third-party application that requires root access to the server to install. Litespeed provides installation instructions at:

    cPanel WHM Plugin for Managing LiteSpeed Web Server - LiteSpeed Technologies

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice