The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow Server Performance

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by skullguy, Dec 29, 2007.

1. skullguy

skullguy Member

Hello,

I am a developer and have a dedicated server that was running fine, page loads fast, cpanel, loaded and navigated fine.

Now it's severly lagging, performance is slow everywhere. Webpage loads, email, even navigating cpanel.

What are the usual suspects to look at when diagnosing a performance issue?

Did the usual graceful, and forceful reboot and restarted apache... no difference...

The server farm people said they would take the server off line, and check the HD...

I think it may be something else... But, I'm not a server admin.
    We running:
    Intel Pentium 4 3.0Ghz
    Fedora Core 6 Linux
    1GB DDR-RAM
    One 80GB SATA
    100Mbps port - 1500Gb Bandwidth
    We have 8 IPs, two for DNS, and one for our sites (75 sites)
    All out sites are static, no SQL, - just tow flash forms.

Now were crawling, and need to diagnose, as general maintainence is now a problem.

Any help would greatly be appreciated.
    If the suggestions are outside of what I can do, I'll forward to our admin. (which is most stuff)

Thanks,
    Skullguy

2. MaraBlue

MaraBlue Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you gone through standard troubleshooting first? Such as...did the slow-to-a-crawl happen gradually, or all at once? And if it happened suddenly, was there anything new installed? What's the bandwidth useage look like...has it suddenly spiked?

Do you have a firewall, and is it possible or have you checked for the possibility of trojans?