The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

sluggishness on dual xeon?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Secret Agent, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    I have this server:

    Dual Xeon 3.4GHz HT
    4GB Memory
    100MBit Uplink
    2x300GB SCSI 10k Disks

    Software
    Apache 1.33
    PHP 4.4.0
    MySQL 4.1.13
    cpanel 10.8x Current

    APF
    BFD
    LSM
    SIM
    LES
    mod dosevasive
    mod throttle
    zend optimizer
    eaccelerator
    nessus

    Server Load:
    CPU: always less than 0.25
    Memory: always less than 20%
    Disk: 10% usage
    tmp: 2% usage

    Problem: acting very sluggish loading the only two sites on the server.
    1. Vbulletin forum (no more than 10-15 concurrent users max) about 300 unique hits per day
    2. Business site (simple flash / php) about 300 unique hits per day

    This was not the case until about two weeks ago. I don't know what could cause it but here are some configurations. Please let me know what could use the sites to act abnormally like the following

    1. no page found
    2. slow page load
    3. normal page load (becomming almost rare).

    I tried: Avant browser, IE 6.x (completely cleared cache/cookies and all). I'm on a cable LAN modem (extremely fast).

    /etc/my.cnf

    [mysqld]
    datadir=/var/lib/mysql
    skip-locking
    skip-innodb
    max_connections = 500
    key_buffer = 128M
    myisam_sort_buffer_size = 64M
    join_buffer_size = 1M
    read_buffer_size = 1M
    sort_buffer_size = 2M
    table_cache = 1800
    thread_cache_size = 384
    wait_timeout = 900
    connect_timeout = 10
    tmp_table_size = 256M
    read_rnd_buffer_size = 524288
    bulk_insert_buffer_size = 8M
    max_allowed_packet = 64M
    max_connect_errors = 10
    query_cache_limit = 3M
    query_cache_size = 256M
    query_cache_type = 1
    query_prealloc_size = 16384
    query_alloc_block_size = 16384
    old-passwords

    [mysql.server]
    user=mysql
    basedir=/var/lib

    [mysqld_safe]
    err-log=/var/log/mysqld.log
    pid-file=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.pid
    open_files_limit=8192

    [mysqldump]
    quick
    max_allowed_packet=32M

    [mysql]
    no-auto-rehash
    #safe-updates

    [isamchk]
    key_buffer=64M
    sort_buffer=64M
    read_buffer=16M
    write_buffer=16M

    [myisamchk]
    key_buffer=256M
    sort_buffer=256M
    read_buffer=128M
    write_buffer=128M

    [mysqlhotcopy]
    interactive-timeout

    php.ini (Zend / eaccelerator)

    zend_extension="/ea/eaccelerator-0.9.3/modules/eaccelerator.so"
    eaccelerator.shm_size="1024"
    eaccelerator.cache_dir="/tmp/eaccelerator"
    eaccelerator.enable="1"
    eaccelerator.optimizer="1"
    eaccelerator.check_mtime="1"
    eaccelerator.debug="0"
    eaccelerator.filter=""
    eaccelerator.shm_max="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_ttl="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_prune_period="0"
    eaccelerator.shm_only="0"
    eaccelerator.compress="1"
    eaccelerator.compress_level="5"

    [Zend]
    zend_optimizer.optimization_level=5
    zend_extension_manager.optimizer=/usr/local/Zend/lib/Optimizer-2.5.10
    zend_extension_manager.optimizer_ts=/usr/local/Zend/lib/Optimizer_TS-2.5.10
    zend_optimizer.version=2.5.10a
    zend_extension=/usr/local/Zend/lib/ZendExtensionManager.so
    zend_extension_ts=/usr/local/Zend/lib/ZendExtensionManager_TS.so

    max_execution_time = 30 ; Maximum execution time of each script, in seconds
    memory_limit = 8M ; Maximum amount of memory a script may consume (8MB)

    httpd.conf

    Timeout 300
    KeepAlive On
    MaxKeepAliveRequests 120
    KeepAliveTimeout 15
    MinSpareServers 15
    MaxSpareServers 20
    StartServers 10
    MaxClients 150
    MaxRequestsPerChild 1000
    #Listen 3000
    #Listen 12.34.56.78:80

    /etc/resolv.conf
    confirmed with data center correct

    TOP

    Code:
    17647 root      17   0  5780 1348   908 R     0.9  0.0   0:00   3 top
        1 root      16   0  2100  572   488 S     0.0  0.0   0:10   0 init
        2 root      RT   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:07   0 migration/0
        3 root      34  19     0    0     0 SWN   0.0  0.0   0:02   0 ksoftirqd/0
        4 root      RT   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:05   1 migration/1
        5 root      34  19     0    0     0 SWN   0.0  0.0   0:02   1 ksoftirqd/1
        6 root      RT   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:09   2 migration/2
        7 root      34  19     0    0     0 SWN   0.0  0.0   0:09   2 ksoftirqd/2
        8 root      RT   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:09   3 migration/3
        9 root      34  19     0    0     0 SWN   0.0  0.0   0:03   3 ksoftirqd/3
       10 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   0 events/0
       11 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   1 events/1
       12 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   2 events/2
       13 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   3 events/3
       14 root      12 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   3 khelper
       15 root      15 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   0 kacpid
       38 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   0 kblockd/0
       39 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   1 kblockd/1
       40 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   2 kblockd/2
       41 root       5 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   3 kblockd/3
       42 root      15   0     0    0     0 SW    0.0  0.0   0:00   3 khubd
       54 root      14 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   0 aio/0
       55 root      14 -10     0    0     0 SW<   0.0  0.0   0:00   1 aio/1
    
    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you checked the DNS records of those two sites to make sure that they are correct?
    Have you checked the error_log to see if php is spewing any errors from those two sites?
    Is your NOC experiencing issues with slow and slugglish behaviour
    Have you installed mod_security with a big ruleset? This slows the server Iv found.
    Have you made changes to /etc/syscntrl.conf to optimize the settings in there?
    Your old-passwords should be old_passwords in my.cnf by the way.
    Have you optimized or tried to run a repair on the the db for these two sites?
    Have you checked their domlogs for issues?
    Is the box being hammered DOS style?
    What version of php are you running?
    Have you looked at MySQL? ps aux shows? Have you restarted MySQL?

    It could be a million things. You said its only 2 sites. Not all of them? Sounds like a MySQL issue to me.
     
    #2 jackie46, Oct 24, 2005
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2005
  3. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    DNS is perfectly fine and untouched. PHP as I already mentioned is 4.4.0

    I am not getting DDOS'd and I installed mod_security via WHM > addon modules without customizing anything.

    Also, old-passwords has always been old-passwords as mentioned endless times in the forums regarding mysql.

    I did not do a repair as they are working fine anyway. As for optimizing, vbulletin has its own and the other is tiny db.
     
  4. Secret Agent

    Secret Agent Guest

    Another thing I noticed is SSL is much slower, especially than usual. Any ideas of what could cause that to happen? The logs are rotateted often (ssl / domain).
     
  5. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
  6. bamasbest

    bamasbest Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As an adder, just 'cause your box might not be under attack, your NOC/LAN can certainly be getting hammered.

    What is the max capacity that your DC/NOC is capable of handling/contracted for? What percentage of that capacity do they run at?

    The core networks for my DC utilizes multiple OC-12 & OC-48 SONET rings, CISCO 12012 Backbone Routers with GigE connects to multiple bonded/reduntant providers and extensive peering agreements. With some (estimated) 50,000 + servers online, I have yet to see them spike (under normal circumstances) over 35% capacity.
     
  7. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    download and install www.pingplotter.com and run a ping / tracert graph to your site for a few days and then do the same thing to other servers on that same network and see if you can find a problem at the network you are on.
     
  8. panayot

    panayot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To find out if it is your server, or the datacenter, login in ssh and start the lynx browser:

    lynx www.yoursite.com

    if its you, then maybe recompile apache and php (leaving out all php modules you dont need).
     
  9. Logan

    Logan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  10. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    On a dual pentium running 4 gigs of ram and 2 scsi drives? He shouldnt have to with those stats.
     
  11. slmsoft

    slmsoft Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    please try to raise maxclients to 512 in httpd.conf (or more)
     
  12. btrieve

    btrieve Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How about a traceroute to the host in question?

    As well as an IP address for others to run traceroutes and test for "sluggishness."
     
  13. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    thats' why i suggested www.pingplotter.com on a win32 box on his end. He can run it and graph every hop in 1 second intervals over a 36 hour period if he wants. This will nail down exactally what points if any are causing latency.
     

Share This Page