Operating System & Version
CENTOS 7.9
cPanel & WHM Version

danfbach

Jan 14, 2021
United States
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I've been working on an email deliverability issue for awhile (over 2 months) now and I've been getting sporadic reports that our email sending IP is on a black list, but when I search it on mxtoolbox, it is never on any blacklists...and also, email will deliver, then not deliver, then deliver...
SO, this brings me to today, I sent out an email and finally received an actual rejection response:
Code:
550-"JunkMail rejected - a2nlsmtp01-04.prod.iad2.secureserver.net 550 [198.71.225.38]:56732 is in an RBL"
a2nlsmtp01-04.prod.iad2.secureserver.net is the "smarthost" and resolves to anything in 198.71.225.0/24 subnet, some of which appear are blacklisted from time to time because presumably, whomever the smarthost network is shared with, sends out spam and gets blacklisted, which is detrimental to my emails deliverability for obvious reasons.
My server's IP is static and is a dedicated server. It does not send out any spam and should therefore never end up on a RBL...is it possible to just outright disable the smarthost configuration so that the smtp server exclusively uses my server and IP for outbound mail?

Last edited by a moderator:

cPRex

Jurassic Moderator
Staff member
Oct 19, 2014
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hey there! Sure, you can disable the smarthost configuration. Just reverse the steps that are about half way down this page:

and that will remove the entries from the Exim configuration for you.

danfbach

Jan 14, 2021
United States
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator