The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Smf and Cpanel question.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dmghq, Nov 28, 2008.

  1. dmghq

    dmghq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ok well i have a smf forum. I installed everything correctly but when i try to install a mod it asks for ftp info. I supply the correct info and it says an error. I use cpanel. But if i use a host without cpanel it works. Is this a problem for here or on smf?
     
  2. txitcs

    txitcs Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sounds more like a configuration issue with your web host. The writer of the addon should be able to tell you more about it.
     
  3. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had previously install SMF and used it with cPanel just fine, what mod are you trying to install? Can you FTP into the domain using a ftp program such as coreftp?
     
  4. dmghq

    dmghq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes i can. It just want allow me to install any mod. Continuously asks for ftp info and then says session error.
     
  5. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is PHP Safe Mode restriction On? I think for SMF it should be off
     
  6. dmghq

    dmghq Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Where can i change that at?
     
  7. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Edit php.ini via SSH

    Find

    ; Safe Mode
    ;
    safe_mode = Off

    There are security concerns with turning this off you should google it to read about them

    You might (if you havent already) create a file called phpinfo.php containing the following

    Code:
    <?php 
    phpinfo();
    ?>
    To view how you php is set up
     
Loading...

Share This Page