TDAndy

Apr 5, 2016
Mangalore, India
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Hello Everyone

When i check my domains on mxtoolbox.com

i constantly get these 3 warnings

smtp MYDOMAIN.com Reverse DNS does not match SMTP Banner.
smtp MYDOMAIN.com Warning - Does not support TLS.
smtp MYDOMAIN.com 15.455 seconds - Not good! on Transaction Time.

when i consulted my sysadmin, he informed me that it is cpanel's way of protection and it is automatic and it is fine nothing to worry. i have no choice but to trust the words of my sysadmin.

just a thought if that was the case then mxtoolbox.com would ignore the same and not show the warnings.

i would be glad if someone could help me out here, shed some light and possibly a solution to this problem

Thanks and Regards
Andy

Last edited by a moderator:

TDAndy

Apr 5, 2016
Mangalore, India
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner

Thank you very much for your answer, i am a newbie and i have no clue about this, but what i could make out is that it can be fixed but only SMTP banner, but the other 2 warnings TLS and Time is not mentioned anywhere

Would be glad if you let me know a little more ... and that it can be fixed or it is default by cpanel and it cannot be fixed

so that i can let my sysadmin know it can be fixed and get it fixed

ChrisI

Technical Analyst II
Mar 24, 2014
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Hello!

The first error:

smtp MYDOMAIN.com Reverse DNS does not match SMTP Banner.

is likely because the server's mailserver isn't responding with the same domain as you are using. You can see what is being returned by connecting to the mailserver with this command, using your domain.

telnet mydomain.com 25

If the domain is on the server's shared IP, it will likely return the server's hostname in the banner. If you need the domain to show up instead, you can put the domain on a dedicated IP address, then use the /etc/mailhelo and /etc/mailips to set the banner for exim for that domain.

On this error: