The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So much memory being used but no swap

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ThunderHostingDotCom, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    What is the best way to troubleshoot why so much system memory is being used but swap is at 0? Can I adjust this & if so how? Or should I not worry at this point?

    Memory Used 67.6 %
    Swap Used 0.00 %
     
  2. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    post the results of

    cat /proc/meminfo or the first 10 lines of the top command

    Hard to say if you have a problem or not with what you posted
     
  3. ThunderHostingDotCom

    ThunderHostingDotCom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    All over!
    MemTotal: 1035664 kB
    MemFree: 12892 kB
    Buffers: 108700 kB
    Cached: 225400 kB
    SwapCached: 0 kB
    Active: 815820 kB
    Inactive: 119996 kB
    HighTotal: 0 kB
    HighFree: 0 kB
    LowTotal: 1035664 kB
    LowFree: 12892 kB
    SwapTotal: 2096440 kB
    SwapFree: 2096440 kB
    Dirty: 1772 kB
    Writeback: 0 kB
    Mapped: 633676 kB
    Slab: 59348 kB
    Committed_AS: 888064 kB
    PageTables: 13960 kB
    VmallocTotal: 3088376 kB
    VmallocUsed: 9100 kB
    VmallocChunk: 3072792 kB
    HugePages_Total: 0
    HugePages_Free: 0
    Hugepagesize: 2048 kB
     
  4. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    looks fine to me

    between cached and free memory you have 238 meg of ram available for use

    linux/unix will use all available memory while running, any accessed program/data will be retained in memory for immediate reuse until the memory is needed for more recent/importiant functions at which time the OS will either transfer the data to swap or will remove it from memory and release the memory addresses for use with the new application/data

    as long as your swap is staying at or close to 0 and the cached/free memory is at least 100 megs or more then everything is working fine
     
  5. maximus_marcus

    maximus_marcus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    Try checking this using the command top - c and then using the opion shift+m to view the process with the highest memory . Check to see whether it is hanged or try killing it then in that case with the process id.


    Regards,
    Marcus
    The New Phase Of Support
     
  6. jackie46

    jackie46 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    All he had to do was type free -m
     
Loading...

Share This Page