The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

software update

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hamper, May 7, 2006.

1. hamper

hamper Well-Known Member

hello all,

I'm still quite new to cpanel and have a few more questions. What would be the best way to update the server software? Should I update apache first then the rest? Should I use the update links in whm or update them in the box manually?

I think I need an update. I'm running cpanel 10.8.1-s114 is the latest version? and I'm still on php 4.1.1 and I'd like to update it also. Does the php update with the apache update?

Any info would be helpful, thanks.

hamper

2. webignition

webignition Well-Known Member

If you don't feel confident performing actions via shell, you can perform such updates/upgrades via WHM.

WHM >> Software >> Apache Update
    This will let you update Apache and PHP.

Ensure that you always select "Load Previous Config" and, to make things a bit quicker, check "Skip Apache Build if up to date". You can select the version of PHP you would like to use and select from a range of modules to include in the build.

This will also update Apache to the latest version available to the update tree you're using.

WHM >> Software >> Update Server Software
    This will update to the latest WHM/cPanel as per the update tree you have selected. 10.8.1-S114 is the latest STABLE release at the moment, so there's no need to upgrade just now.

You should check http://layer2.cpanel.net/ for details of the latest versions in each release tree.

If you want to use a different release tree, go to WHM >> Server Configuration >> Update Config and select whatever you'd like to use.

WHM >> Software >> Update System Software