The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sombody is leeching my bandwidth

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sexy_guy, May 25, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have noticed that on one of our server (127 sites) our monthly bandwidth reported is 15.5% of our total allowed by our NOC. On another server with (390 sites) our monthly total is only 5.5% of our total allowed bandwidth. This doesnt make any sense. How can a server with only 127 sites be using twice the amount of bandwidth and a server with 390 sites on it? I suspect somebody is leeching bandwidth. What i dont understand is why blimited is not working. I want to stop whoever is using http://ourip/ from taking our bandwidth. Its installed and compiled in but it doesnt work. In fact, it doesnt work on any of our servers and never has. So whats the use of including it during a rebuilt? Users are able to use http://ourip/~username to access their sites. How does one get this working? Anyone got any clues?

    Thanks :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: How do i stop it
     
    #1 sexy_guy, May 25, 2003
    Last edited: May 25, 2003
  2. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Well it is quite possible that a server with 127 sites would use more than a server with 390 sites, all it needs is one account thats a heavy bandwidth user. I presume you've checked bandadmin and WHM bandwidth?
    How do those figures compare to the ones you are talking about?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello i will let you know but how does one get blimited working here? I mean its included in httpd.conf

    LoadModule rewrite_module libexec/mod_rewrite.so
    LoadModule php4_module libexec/libphp4.so
    LoadModule bwlimited_module libexec/mod_bwlimited.so <-- HERE
    LoadModule bytes_log_module libexec/mod_log_bytes.so
    LoadModule bwprotect_module libexec/mod_bwprotect.so


    and

    AddModule mod_bwlimited.c

    But it doesn't work. Users should only be able to access sites at http://theirdomains.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I just checked. According to WHM the box with 127 sites has used 43gig while the site with 390+ sites has used only 11gigs. Makes no sense. There are only 15 resellers on box with 127 sites non of which has more than 25gigs of bandwidth per month while the second box has over 50 resellers non of which has more then 25gigs of bandwidth per month also. So?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Hoster2k

    Hoster2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    If that's the recorded bandwidth then it has been used. Where's your problem?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Well it all depends what your plans are like, as most of us know most clients dont even get close to touching there alloted bandwidth and space, maybe a few clients are tho on your box with 127.

    25Gig x 15 is wot... 375gigs of potential bandwidth, so getting only 43 makes sense :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Only two resellers have 25gig the rest do not. Also can anyone answer the question. How do you get blimited working? Thats my biggest question. I mean if this worked then i would be confortable knowing that users where not accessing their sites from http://ourip/~username/ after propagation.!>

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. SoftmegUK

    SoftmegUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Is it working on both your servers or just one of them?

    this may sound like a stupid idea but would recompling apache hurt to give it a try?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Its not working on any server. I have tried recompiling on many occasions with the same results. Even though its installed it doesnt work at all. Does it work on you boxes?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    **BUMP**

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Hoster2k

    Hoster2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    yes it works for me

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. hostultra

    hostultra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    disable mod_userdir in apache
    We have been doing this for a year without any complaints, there is no purpose to allowing http://ip/~username/

    If you want to allow customers to test their site before their domain resolves give them a subdomain and add it in their "Parked Domains"

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  14. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, i did search and i did post in that forum. Im dont want to use userdir because its a maintenance hassle. I want to use the protect modules since its already installed but i want to find out why its not active and working the way it should.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Touche! :)

    You might want to use that method though, because if memory serves me correctly, mod_bwlimited was created by DarkORB. If that is true, you would need to contact them directly for more info.

    The module (I do believe) is for specific use of Cpanel, disabling accounts that have gone over their monthly allocated Data Transfer. So if accounts meeting that requirement are being automatically disabled, then it is working properly.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No its bwprotect that i am referring to, i think. Who wrote that one? DarkOrb? I cannot find any info on it on the net so that may be true.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  17. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If not created by them it is definitly customized by them. In the source code for bwprotect there are references to cpanel directories.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     

Share This Page