The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some Clarification on DNS Settings

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by nootkan, Apr 9, 2016.

  1. nootkan

    nootkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Shouldn't every domain have the same soa settings in your dns zones? I have over 20 domains on my server with some being .ca, .net and some with a hyphen in the name.com. I've been having email issues so I thought I'd check my dns settings and found some errors.

    After following some of the excellent threads in this forum, I've managed to get my errors down to 1 for all domains using MX tools with the exception of the .ca, .net and hyphen related domains.

    Every domain has the same soa values:
    Yet when I run an smtp test on .ca, .net or hyphen mixed domain names I keep seeing this:
    Here are the Domain Health screenshots also to give you a better understanding of what I'm seeing:
    .com domains
    [​IMG]

    .ca,.net and hyphenated domains
    [​IMG]

    Am I supposed to be setting the dns different for these domains somewhere else?
     
    #1 nootkan, Apr 9, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest completing these SMTP tests manually as opposed to using a third-party utility to verify if you see the same results. There's a third-party guide on using telnet to test SMTP connections at:

    SMTP, testing via Telnet - Ubuntuwiki.net

    In addition, you can use the "host" command to check reverse DNS entries.

    Note that the "Name servers on same subnet" warning simply indicates that your name servers are on the same IP address subnet. This is not necessarily an issue, though some administrators prefer separate a separate subnet for each name server for added redundancy.

    Thank you.
     
  3. nootkan

    nootkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks Michael, I get a command not found error when trying to telnet alt3.gmail-smtp-in.1google.com 25 from my server. I am trying to follow google's instructions on their form to see why they are blocking my ip from sending email to gmail.com email addresses when no other canned email services or isp's are doing the same.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can install the "telnet" package with a command such as:

    Code:
    yum install telnet
    Thank you.
     
  5. nootkan

    nootkan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks again Michael, it turned out to be exim rejecting the email as per this log:

    I've been told it isn't a good practice to install telnet onto a dedicated server. Is that true? I know google requires it to provide them with information when filling out their form.
     
    #5 nootkan, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2016
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,762
    Likes Received:
    662
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page