The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some help please? Moving 1 site.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JackMarshen22, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. JackMarshen22

    JackMarshen22 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello

    I currently have 2 web sites on 2 different servers. both setup with cpanel
    One has the cpanel liscene, 1 doesnt.

    One site is about to go down in 2 days becuase I can no longer afford the $200/month(this is the site with cpanel license)

    How much of a challange would it be to move the site from the server going down, to my other server, and set it up to host both of these sites(without disturbing the other site in the process?)

    Im really busy/depressed in my life, and set this up over 2 years ago, I can remember the problems it brought then, so I can imagine what problems can occur doing this, And id rather lose one site then mess up both.

    Thanks in advance

    - - - Updated - - -

    Cant edit past post
    Forgot to mention, the server without cpanel license was originally setup with cpanel.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you considered transferring the cPanel license from the source server to the destination server? If you did that, you could simply use the transfer options in Web Host Manager to copy over your accounts seamlessly.

    Thank you.
     
  3. JackMarshen22

    JackMarshen22 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello

    Would that be available within my permissions, or would I have to contact the webhost to do that?
    I manage the server myself. So I have ftp, ssh privileges

    Thanks for the help!
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It depends on where you purchased your cPanel license from. If you are not sure, feel free to email cs@cpanel.net directly with any questions about your license.

    Thank you.
     
  5. JackMarshen22

    JackMarshen22 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have emailed them now, However I got my license through paying my webhost(worldstream), They then take care of the payment to cpanel, and just link me to the domain:port to access it on with the user/pass.

    With the information I just gave you, is that enough to determine whether I can move my license over on my own,without cpanel staff/host intervention?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It sounds like you may simply pay for web hosting, and not have root access to the source server. If that is the case, you must purchase a cPanel license for the destination server, then transfer the account via:

    "WHM Home » Transfers » Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password"

    Thank you.
     
  7. JackMarshen22

    JackMarshen22 Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I managed to get the cpanel license transffered, Are you able to help me a bit with the direct steps to add a another domain to this server?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sure, access the destination server as "root" via Web Host Manager and use the following option:

    "WHM Home » Transfers » Copy an Account From Another Server With an Account Password"

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page