The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some Mod_security rules not present in last release. Why?

Discussion in 'Security' started by Kent Brockman, Feb 27, 2012.

1. Kent Brockman

Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi there people. I just wanted to point out something that grab my attention today.
    I'm studying the different mechanisms that mod_security allow to protect the server against malware, bots and hackers, and lurking the different installation folders inside the system, I discovered that the files with advanced configurations and extra, optional, filters, was present in the EasyApache src folder for mod_sec v2.5.13, but the installed version seems to be the 2.6.3. The weird thing is that 2.6.3 HAVE NOT these filter files in its place.

Code:
    [11:02:34][~]# locate modsecurity_crs
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/modsecurity_crs_10_config.conf.example
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/modsecurity_crs_48_local_exceptions.conf.example
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_20_protocol_violations.conf
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_21_protocol_anomalies.conf
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_23_request_limits.conf
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_30_http_policy.conf
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_35_bad_robots.conf
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_40_generic_attacks.conf
    /home/cpeasyapache/src/modsecurity-apache_2.5.13/rules/base_rules/modsecurity_crs_41_sql_injection_attacks.conf