The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some questions about copy account.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by leftie, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. leftie

    leftie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I want to copy an account from another server. I have all the login details for cpanel. The database is about 250mb (unzipped) and the ftp about 100mb.
    My question is will the copy process affect the original website (vbulletin forum, like this).
    Also, how big a copy (mb) could i safely do without any hiccups.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Anything over 250MB you're taking your chances. But you'll only find out for sure by doing, right? :)

    If you run into problems do a full backup on the old server via cPanel and move to public_html. Then just wget it to the new servers /home/ and restore from WHM controls.
     
  3. leftie

    leftie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ok thanks. My main concern is, will it affect the source website.
     
  4. leftie

    leftie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I should add that the reason for me asking this is because i want to move a website as described in my first post, and the truth is i am scared that if i muck it up at my end will i damage the original target.
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Running a backup won't affect the original account in any way. You might like to shut down the forums if they are real busy while you run that backup, just to be sure you get a nice clean copy of the database.

    If you have access to SSH, you could grab a very clean backup this way as well.

    mysqldump --opt -Q -u username_username -p username_cpaneldb > /home/username/dbexport/vb.forumdb.01.21.07.sql


    As an example. ;)

    The beauty of having another server here is to be able to work on one while the other operates as expected.
     
Loading...

Share This Page