The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some questions about NameServers

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by seekhosting, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. seekhosting

    seekhosting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    I am new to manage dedicated server with WHM. I am quite confuse with the nameservers:

    Assign Nameserver IPs
    When I received my dedicated server, I noticed that the hosting company has set up two nameservers for me. I can check that in Manage Nameserver IPs under Server setup.

    I have a question here:
    The nameservers will work even I do not assign them in Manage Nameserver IPs. Actually I can register many nameservers and simply point to the two IP addresses. The registered nameservers still working.

    What's the purpose of assign nameservers in Manage Nameserver IPs?

    Thanks and best regards
     
  2. seekhosting

    seekhosting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Could anyone provide some guidelines for me?

    Thanks

    seekhosting
     
  3. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I could be wrong.. but I believe its so you can run virtual nameservers... for like say reseller clients.

    Sheldon
     
  4. seekhosting

    seekhosting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    To prove that I am right. I have registered another two nameservers two days ago. I never assigned them in the WHM.

    Both the new nameservers are working normally!

    Therefore there is no need to do anything in the WHM. Just use the two IP addresses to register any nameservers you like.

    Regards
     
  5. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    They will work like that, but if you do a domain search at http://dnsreports.com you will notice that they are listed as stealth servers. They need to have a real A assignment such as domain A IN address. Otherwise your customers will not have their own private nameservers.
     
  6. seekhosting

    seekhosting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    kris1351,

    Thanks for your valuable answer. That's is what I puzzle for a long time!

    By the way, what is the difference between "Stealth Servers" and a "Normal Servers"

    Thanks and best regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page