The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some sites work, some don't

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MrTorelli, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. MrTorelli

    MrTorelli Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Recently, my server was reloaded, and all the data was slaved, and then mounted back on, and restored. My two main domains, www.posting4hosting.com and www.hostreliability.com both work, but all the accounts on my server don't work. Members can log into there accounts by going to www.posting4hosting.com/cpanel but for some reason there sub domains like abihayat.posting4hosting.com do not work. If i make a new account with the sub domain it works fine, like http://charrrmed.posting4hosting.com.

    If anyone can help me with this, i would be grateful. I have been down for a week now, and i have a lot of customers, complaining and killing me, asking me where there accounts are.

    Thanks
    Stefan
     
  2. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Did you check their dns records and see if the sub domain entries exist on the proper
    share IP?

    what does /var/log/messages say when you try the subdomain url?
     
  3. MrTorelli

    MrTorelli Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I looked at the listed accounts and it shows that they all exist on the shared IP.

    As for looking on /var/logs/messages, i am unable to do that, as i not sure how to.
     
  4. angelina_holy

    angelina_holy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    To chech/modify a DNS zone, login to WHM >> DNS Functions >> Edit DNS Zone
    If you are comfortable with shell, SSH to your server, using your favorite editor such as vi or pico or nano, check on the entry of an account in /usr/local/apache/conf/httpd.conf
     
  6. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Just to update:
    The zones and httpd.conf file were fine. The problem was the user files were never restored from the backups as the backup folder was symlinked. Only dns records exist. The backups are now currently being restored.
     
  7. MrTorelli

    MrTorelli Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks to "jayh38" I am currently running again, I would just like to say thanks to him, if you need a professional to help you, i suggest you ask him..

    Thanks again jayh38

    Stefan
     
Loading...

Share This Page