The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Something weird happened recently after the last Cpanel Update?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GFED, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    My confirmation emails look like

    New account on NS2.XXXXXXX.XXX (XXXXXX.XXX)

    instead of

    New account on srv01.XXXXXXX.XXX (XXXXXX.XXX)

    and the domains I am adding aren't working correctly... :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    nobody can help you man, because nobody knows what the heck you're talking about.

    Put the domain name in here:

    http://www.dnsreport.com

    and see what the problem is.

    If Cpanel is creating accounts on the wrong nameservers, check in edit setup to make sure the nameservers are correct.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    you know the email that it sends you when you make an account in Cpanel? well it used to say that the account was being made on my hostname, but now it says they are being made on my nameserver 2... ??? noone else is having this problem???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am using Linux7.3 S85 and setup 3 domains just now - no problem. The email is just the same as it always is - my hostname.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. compunet2

    compunet2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Look under "Edit Setup" and make sure your host name is entered correctly. Also confirm your NS are correct. Even if everything looks good... click save.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any other ideas? I can't make new accounts... my domains WON'T propagate... :( :( :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    First step to getting help from others is learning to help yourself:

    http://www.dnsreport.com


    What's that say for the domains you're having problems with?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    everything here looks fine...

    http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=free-goth-pics.com

    but when I go to the domain, it sends my to yahoo... it's been over a week and it should have propagated by now... ???

    ...and tracert

    C:\>tracert free-goth-pics.com
    Unable to resolve target system name free-goth-pics.com.


    :(

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To: XXXXXXXXX@yahoo.com
    From: cpanel@srv01.fiercehost.net | This is spam | Add to Address Book
    Subject: New account on NS2.FIERCEHOST.NET (testxxx.com)
    Date: Tue, 22 Jul 2003 09:20:14 -0400




    +===================================+
    | New Account Info |
    +===================================+
    | Domain: testxxx.com
    | Ip: XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (n)
    | HasCgi: y
    | UserName: testxxx
    | PassWord: testxxx
    | CpanelMod: x
    | HomeRoot: /home
    | Quota: unlimited Meg
    | NameServer: NS1.FIERCEHOST.NET
    +===================================+
    Account was setup by: root (root)



    ^^^^ This is the email it sends me... before subject would say New account on srv01.FIERCEHOST.NET (testxxx.com)

    and would have both nameservers listed below... but now this is what it does... ???

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. alwaysweb

    alwaysweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Dude, stop whining and just edit this line in:

    /scripts/wwwacct

    file,

    icontact('wwwacct',3,"New account on $host ($domain)",$msg);

    (After double checking your settings in WHM to make sure your hostname hasn't been changed).

    :)
     
  14. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I see that line exactly like you gave me. Could you please tell me where it gets the $host variable so I can try to trace the problem? I've checked my hostname and host files, nothing has changed.

    I am not whining. I am frustrated that I cannot find any help for this problem. Noone seems to know what I am talking about whereever I post this. I seem to be the ONLY person experiencing this problem.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. GFED

    GFED Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Could you please tell me where it gets the $host variable so I can try to trace the problem?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page