The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

something wrong with centos 3.3 installed with cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cz1179, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got my server reloaded with CentOS from the data center which no longer re-installs cpanel on OS reloads. I installed cPanel myself (which installs by itself with no user input otherwise). I have a few problems here for some reason.

    First, APF below giving me errors that I've never encountered before. Second, "make" command does not work at all. Finally, apache shows as failed too in WHM stats.

    root@localhost [~]# /etc/init.d/httpd configtest
    /etc/init.d/httpd: line 175: /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd: No such file or directory

    I went to install APF firewall and got this:

    [root@localhost apf-0.9.4-8]# apf -s
    /usr/local/sbin/apf: line 281: Pure: command not found
    /etc/apf/vnet/vnetgen: line 281: Pure: command not found
    /etc/apf/firewall: line 281: Pure: command not found
    /etc/apf/firewall: line 281: Pure: command not found

    I tried installing mod throttle as well and got this error when I ran 'make'

    [root@localhost mod_throttle-3.1.2]# make
    /usr/local/apache/bin/apxs -c mod_throttle.c
    make: /usr/local/apache/bin/apxs: Command not found
    make: *** [mod_throttle.so] Error 127

    root@localhost [~]# rpm -q kernel iptables
    kernel-2.4.21-9.0.1.EL.c0
    kernel-2.4.21-27.0.1.EL
    kernel-2.4.21-27.0.2.EL
    iptables-1.2.8-12.3

    root@localhost [~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    CentOS release 3.3 (final)

    I researched on the pure error and found nothing on google, cpanel or rfc site.

    I reinstalled 4-5 times already.

    My typical APF install (done this a million times, works always except now). Done this on Fedora Core 1, 2, CentOS, Enterprise just fine.

    Code:
    wget http://www.rfxnetworks.com/downloads/apf-current.tar.gz
    tar -xvzf apf-current.tar.gz
    cd apf-0.9.4-8
    ./install.sh
    pico /etc/apf/conf.apf
    FIND: USE_DS="0"
    CHANGE TO: USE_DS="1"
    
    # Common ingress (inbound) TCP ports -3000_3500 = passive port range for Pure FTPD
    IG_TCP_CPORTS="21,22,25,53,80,110,143,443,2082,2083, 2086,2087, 2095, 2096,3000_3500"
    #
    # Common ingress (inbound) UDP ports
    IG_UDP_CPORTS="53"
    
    # Common egress (outbound) TCP ports
    EG_TCP_CPORTS="21,25,80,443,43,2089"
    #
    # Common egress (outbound) UDP ports
    EG_UDP_CPORTS="20,21,53"
    
    /usr/local/sbin/apf -s
    pico /etc/apf/conf.apf
    FIND: DEVM="1"
    CHANGE TO: DEVM="0"
    
    /usr/local/sbin/apf -r
    chkconfig --level 2345 apf on
    
    How do I correct these issues? I obviously do not have ability to "install from cd" as this is a leased server.
     
    #1 cz1179, Jan 24, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2005
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    First off its a fresh Cpanel install apache does not come preistalled you need to build apache
     
  3. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Updated Apache (currently failed status) in WHM and got this error in the process:


    make apache_1.3.33....... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Done
    make apache_1.3.33...(install).... Done
    make[1]: *** [install-mktree] Error 1
    make: *** [install-all] Error 2
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd start: httpd could not be started
    Setting /home permissions to 0711......Done

    Second error:

    configure php-4.3.10...(--with-apxs=/usr/local/apache/bin/apxs --with-xml --enable-bcmath --enable-calendar --with-curl --with-swf=/usr/local/flash --enable-ftp --with-gd --with-jpeg-dir=/usr/local --with-png-dir=/usr --with-xpm-dir=/usr/X11R6 --with-gettext --with-imap --with-imap-ssl --with-kerberos --with-mcrypt --with-mhash --enable-magic-quotes --with-mysql --enable-discard-path --with-pear --with-pgsql=/usr --enable-sockets --enable-track-vars --with-ttf --with-freetype-dir=/usr --enable-gd-native-ttf --enable-versioning --with-zlib)... . . Done

    configure: error: Aborting
    make php-4.3.10...(clean)...Done
     
    #3 cz1179, Jan 24, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2005
  4. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone please help?
     
  5. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you have Yum configered ?
     
  6. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the data center installed the OS so I assume they configured yum. However, a few things to note:

    I installed cPanel (as they no longer do this for resellers after reimages)

    mkdir /home/cpins
    cd /home/cpins
    wget http://layer1.cpanel.net/latest
    sh latest

    (install instructions on cpanel's site)

    I changed the yum.conf to this (as directed by the data center tech a while back for centos servers specifically)

    Code:
    # Begin yum.conf
    [main]
    exclude=mod_ssl* httpd* perl mysql* php* cachedir=/var/cache/yum
    debuglevel=2
    logfile=/var/log/yum.log
    pkgpolicy=newest
    distroverpkg=redhat-release
    tolerant=1
    exactarch=1
    
    [base]
    name=Red Hat Linux $releasever - $basearch - Base #baseurl=http://192.168.1.235/mirrors/centos/3/os/i386/
    baseurl=http://planetmirror.com/pub/caosity/centos/3.1/os/i386/
    
    [updates]
    name=Red Hat Linux $releasever - Updates
    #baseurl=http://192.168.1.235/mirrors/centos/3/updates/i386
    baseurl=http://planetmirror.com/pub/caosity/centos/3.1/updates/i386/
    
    #End yum.conf
    
    Now, I had them reimage the server with CentOS 3.3 once again. I am currently installing cpanel with install instructions as shown above from their site. Do I immediately compile apache after with /scripts/easyapache? Any specific instructions you'd like to share? Please let me know.
     
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  8. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did that...

    [root@localhost cpins]# rpm --import http://mirror.caosity.org/centos-3/RPM-GPG-KEY-CentOS-3
    [root@localhost cpins]#


    Cpanel install completed now "done" result.

    How do I probably install Apache now? This is my first time installing cpanel myself and apache. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.
     
  9. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/upcp
    if you have the latest build then you can just run
    yum update
    /scripts/easyapache
     
  10. cz1179

    cz1179 BANNED

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Works :)

    Thanks a million!
     
  11. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    NP :)






    to fill the ten charactar minimum rule
     
  12. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    sounds like a typical aussy data center , overcharging the enduser and not providing the basic services ;)
     
  13. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Pfft aussie datacentres....sucky sucky.
     
  14. gorilla

    gorilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney / Australia
    actually, just did a colo server here in sunny sydney and gotta say am very happy with it.
    will report back in a month :cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page