The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

'Sorry, the copy failed. Unable to find the cpanel user file'

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sykoi, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Urgently need help with a failed domain transfer.

    I just got cPanel/WHM setup on my new VPS (Server), and have been transfering domains over to it from my old server... But I ran into a problem:

    That is the error I get when I try to 'Copy an account from another server with account password'...

    I tried making a new account and got 'Sorry, that domain is already setup (remove it from httpd.conf?)'; so I did just that - I removed it by hand from httpd.conf (It was NOT listed ANYWHERE; not in normal accounts, not in parked or sub domains - no where)... I tried creating the account again - it worked; I terminated it and tried to transfer again...


    Same error!

    Can someone please help me here? This is making me very angry.


    Thanks, if someone can actually figure this out :rolleyes:
     
    #1 Sykoi, Oct 19, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2004
  2. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone? Someone? Please (Sorry for bump but I've been trying to fix this for 3 days and needed it up 4 days ago :mad: )
     
  3. xgravity

    xgravity Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    any news on this? I get the same error.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,475
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Was the account already created on the new server before you tried to move this one?
     
  5. Sykoi

    Sykoi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nope, I made 100% sure of it before each time.
     
  6. rascal2trust

    rascal2trust Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is Crap

    I am having the same problem, am on the latest stable release. This crap is really getting old, this worked just fine on another server a couple of weeks ago.

    These are backup files, and trying to restore them from shell, with the restore script does not work either, it creates a directory named just like the backup file.

    I am getting so tired of all the goofy crap with cpanel that is supposed to work, but it does not.
     
  7. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cpmove-username.tar.gz

    /scripts/restorepkg up2date
    Searching /home....
    Found cpmove-up2date.tar.gz !
    Extracting tarball....
    gzip: stdin: not in gzip format <--------- that seems to be the problem
    /bin/tar: Child returned status 1
    Extracting Domain....Done<br>
    Sorry, the copy failed. Unable to find the cpanel user file
     
  8. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    The transfer feature has been broken for a couple of weeks now. In addition I see Cpanel spawning gzip processes that never die. We need a few updates to clean up problems caused in this last rush of updates.
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Posting here will not get this solved. You need to submit a ticket at http://support.cpanel.net. Thank you.

    Also make sure you have IO:Tty installed.
     
  10. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The ticket is open now :eek:

    I'll publish the result here as soon as the problem has been fixed.
     
    #10 deddy, Oct 29, 2004
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2004
  11. alrock

    alrock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone have a fix for this yet? I have a new reseller with about 150 accounts and we are having the same problem listed here when trying to use her backup tarball to restore the accounts on my server. If this can't be fixed, I am going to lose the customer. :mad:
     
  12. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Update cPanel to 9.9.8-EDGE_57
    Try to move the accounts.
    It should be successfully.
    Finally update again to your current version.
     
  13. paulm

    paulm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just tried this with 9.9.8-E114 and I am still getting the same error, does anyone have another fix?
     
  14. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you updated on both machines?
    You should now update to 9.9.8-RELEASE_116 on both machines.
    It is working here ;)
     
  15. adamint

    adamint Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ive been getting this but im hoping going to stable should help fix the problem, i upgraded to edge because a client wanted to use the auto phpbb install feature but wasnt expecting to get this problem :(

    YAY while typing this message i was going back to WHM 9.9.7 cPanel 9.9.8-S6 and now my accounts are copying over again :)
     
  16. bijo

    bijo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Rename the file..

    Hi guys,

    I faced the same problem one month before. Copy the username.tar.gz file in to /home or /tmp directory and extract it. And check the name of new directory. if it is not same as the user name, rename the tar.gz file to directoryname.tar.gz and move it to the home dir.
    then run
    /scripts/restorepkg directoryname

    Hope it will solve u r problem. If it will not solve your problem, create a the domain with same user name (directoryname) in whm and then run the scripts.

    /scripts/restorepkg directoryname

    Any way it solved my problem.

    [But i know, This is not an exact method because one domain is OK but to create more then 100........]
     
    #16 bijo, Dec 8, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2004
  17. MuNLoK

    MuNLoK Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    This should be a joke.

    STABLE
    9.9.9-STABLE_11

    AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN SOLVED!! :mad: :mad: :mad:
     
  18. net-trend

    net-trend Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Only the previous STABLE release works fine. All recent releases have it fudged.
     
  19. ebradsha

    ebradsha Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Any update on this issue? Perhaps a cPanel support staff member could shed some light on the issue? If any cPanel support staff is reading this, please check my ticket #83032 related to this issue, thanks.
     
  20. K_aneda

    K_aneda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
Loading...

Share This Page