The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sorry, the domain name cannot be changed because it is owned by another user

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AdamDresch, Feb 13, 2010.

  1. AdamDresch

    AdamDresch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Howdy all,

    I've just setup a second server with cpanel for development purposes and want to copy a site from our live server, to this one, but I need to set it up under another domain.

    The live site is eogamer.com, the test domain I want to use is eogamer.info

    I've imported the backup ok and it shows fine, but I can't change the domain name from eogamer.com, to eogamer.info

    It keeps throwing up the error

    Sorry, the domain name cannot be changed because it is owned by another user

    Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,481
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In List Accounts page in WHM, look there to see who owns the account. Assuming it's not root from the other server. You can change owner right there on List Accounts page to root or the reseller you have setup on the test server.
     
  3. AdamDresch

    AdamDresch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yea the account owner is "root"
    There's no other options in the ownership menu.
     
  4. mediakreativ

    mediakreativ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello there,

    i have the same problem:

    I cannot change the accounts domain name - get the same error message, although the owner is root.

    I guess it has something to do with the fact that i had changed it one time before and - whats strange - the old domain is still listed when i want to add an email adress.

    Any idea?

    Kind regards,

    Christian
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have mentioned this many times before but renaming accounts via WHM is broken and does not update everything that needs to be updated and leaves a lot of underlying things broken until you do some manual updating in the system to fix those issues.

    Bottom line though is that it is really not a good idea to rename the domains on accounts using WHM.

    Now with regard to where you are running into a conflict ---

    Code:
    # grep "domain.com" -- /var/cpanel/users/*
    
    That will tell you which account login has the old domain and if not actually active, you should be able to remove the "DNS" or "XDNS" lines from the account file and update the users database.

    Also you mentioned "servers". If indeed you are actually running multiple server machines and not talking about just separate hosting accounts, you will also run into problems if those server machines are under the same DNS clustering as this will also prevent you from adding any domain that already exists elsewhere within the clustered servers.
     
  6. mediakreativ

    mediakreativ Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    @Spiral:

    Thank you very much for your quick answer!

    I have solved the problem by deleteting the account and creating a new one afterwards. There i imported the public_html directory and the database.

    Fortunately it was a new account with a website in development - so i hadnt to care about emails etc.

    In future i will be very carefully with renaming an account or changing the domain name...

    Hopefully this problem will be fixed in WHM soon!

    Kind regards,

    Christian
     
Loading...

Share This Page