The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOS!!!Apache Failed, what do i do??

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by arnab, Jan 24, 2002.

  1. arnab

    arnab Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am getting Apache failed in my WHM, how do I rectify it. When ever I trying to access and site on my server it is giving me connection failed.
    :eek: if my apache has failed how can i access the WHM, isn\'t apache handling my requests??
     
  2. feanor

    feanor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    a) /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log

    b) /var/log/messages

    c) WHmanager runs off a completely different process than the core apache server CPanel installs.
     
  3. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    apache failing

    Here's what I'm getting inmy error log. How do you fix this Apache is failing

    root@localhost [~]# tail /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] Loaded DSO libexec/mod_userdir.so uses plain Apache 1.3 API, this module might crash under EAPI! (please recompile it with -DEAPI)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] Loaded DSO libexec/mod_alias.so uses plain Apache 1.3 API, this module might crash under EAPI! (please recompile it with -DEAPI)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] Loaded DSO libexec/mod_access.so uses plain Apache 1.3 API, this module might crash under EAPI! (please recompile it with -DEAPI)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] Loaded DSO libexec/mod_auth.so uses plain Apache 1.3 API, this module might crash under EAPI! (please recompile it with -DEAPI)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] Loaded DSO libexec/mod_setenvif.so uses plain Apache 1.3 API, this module might crash under EAPI! (please recompile it with -DEAPI)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] Loaded DSO libexec/mod_attach.so uses plain Apache 1.3 API, this module might crash under EAPI! (please recompile it with -DEAPI)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [warn] pid file /usr/local/apache/logs/httpd.pid overwritten -- Unclean shutdown of previous Apache run?
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [notice] Apache/1.3.23 (Unix) mod_bwlimited/1.0 PHP/4.1.2 mod_log_bytes/0.3 mod_attach/0.9 configured -- resuming normal operations
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [notice] suEXEC mechanism enabled (wrapper: /usr/local/apache/bin/suexec)
    [Thu Mar 7 13:52:21 2002] [notice] Accept mutex: sysvsem (Default: sysvsem)
     
  4. WeinBar

    WeinBar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    If this was working and now all of a sudden you are getting these messages, then you may have a memory problem. Have you tried rebooting your server? Sometimes that takes care of those issues.

    If a reboot helps, I would look at the server's memory as a starting point
     
  5. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks! I'll try that
     
  6. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    After numerous differnet attempts at trying to fix this problem, I've had no success. Apache still fails every 3 hours or so. Had anyone else had this experience?
     
  7. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I wanted you all to know that I fiex it and I wanted to post the solution.

    When this server was set up, the clicent accidently put in a master name server which turned it into a slave.

    I went into named.conf and di the following.

    I changed this:

    zone &mantalkz.com& {
    type slave;
    masters {
    ns1.mantalkz.com;
    };
    file &/var/named/mantalkz.com.db&;
    };

    To this:

    zone &mantalkz.com& {
    type master;
    file &/var/named/mantalkz.com.db&;
    };

    Named started and it is now working fine. Hope this helps someone else one day.
     
  8. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello

    Thanks for the info,

    How did you decided to edit named.conf?
     
  9. totalufo

    totalufo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    because when trying to restart bind, it told me &named not running&
     
Loading...

Share This Page