The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spaces in /etc/userdomains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by its_joe, Aug 6, 2007.

  1. its_joe

    its_joe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    We have a linux server(CentOS) with WHM 11 installed on it.

    now we are facing some problem on the server. After every 2-3 days the file /etc/userdomains get editted and I don't know how. And in this file , many spaces are added in the beginning like
    in /etc/userdomains
    <space> domainname.com: username
    <space> domainname2.com: username2
    domainname3.com: username3
    <space> domainname4.com: username4


    So we are not able to understand how to solve this and what can be the solution for this. Due to this problem many clients are getting email problem.

    Waiting for the reply.

    its_joe
     
    #1 its_joe, Aug 6, 2007
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2007
  2. its_joe

    its_joe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am waiting for the reply to this thread. :)
     
  3. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Not sure what would be putting the spaces in the file every 2-3 days.

    Running /scripts/updateuserdomains should resolve the issue, but I would check any custom scripts or services that you might have to make sure nothing it updating cPanel user information.
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I'd also be suspicious of any SFTP client you may be using that is inserting Windows LF's instead of Linux ones.
     
  5. its_joe

    its_joe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your replied.

    1. /scripts/updateuserdomains don't fix the problem. I have tried this. to solve the problem i have to manually go to the file and delete the spaces.

    Is there any of the script that i can use to delete the unwanted spaces in the file /etc/userdomains


    2. I am sorry chirpy , But i didn't understand your last reply
    "be suspicious of any SFTP client you may be using that is inserting Windows LF's instead of Linux ones." . Please elaborate more on this . And what is windows LF ?
     
  6. nyjimbo

    nyjimbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New York
    Maybe a stupid question but.... Is this machine using the English language on everything ?. Any foreign language usage or implementation on the O/S or Cpanel?

    Just a thought .....
     
  7. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Did you open a ticket on this yet ?
     
  8. its_joe

    its_joe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no i have not opened ticket for this in cpanel staff yet.
     
Loading...

Share This Page