The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

spam assassin blacklists??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by leftofcentre, Aug 19, 2003.

  1. leftofcentre

    leftofcentre Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi I have spam assassin configured and working on our server. I was wondering is spam assassin setup by default to access black lists or do I have to configure that in some way? If so how?

    We seem to still be getting some spam thru, the spam is coming from well know spammers so I would be surprised if they where not on blacklists.

    I heard of Vipul's Razor, is this a good job?

    Thanks in advance.

    Brian

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. WhiteCollar

    WhiteCollar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dear leftofcentre,

    Through Cpanel (mail->spam assassin)you can enable the spam assassin for your domain. After spam assassin is enabled, you can configure it by giving the black lists to be blocked as you require.

    Regards,

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    SpamAssassin uses blacklists as part of its decision to mark something as spam, but being on a blacklist does not automatically get it flagged as spam (which I really like)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. leftofcentre

    leftofcentre Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I want to use the following blacklists:

    bl.spamcop.net
    sbl.spamhaus.org

    How can i configure these with Spam Assisin or does it uses these already?

    Thanks

    Brian

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. lowspeed

    lowspeed Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was wondering i would you do it server wide and not just for each account in the local conf file.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page