The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spam button inside last updated Edge version....?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rone, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    After the last update of WHM EDGE 14936 you see a new button under "software" in you WHM panel. Is it me or is this the same kind of SPAM like Plesk use to do inside their panel?? Sorry to say but I realy don't like to get these kind of buttons inside my panel.

    Please cPanel it is OK to me that you have partnerships with other companies but don't push me to them and give me a option to remove this nasty button.

    This is where you get after hitting the button: http://cpanel.edit.com

    ........:mad:
     
  2. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    It should not be enabled by default.
    cpanelpost:# Disable edit_com feature by default
    cpanelpost:if [ ! -e "/var/cpanel/version/edit_com" ]; then
    cpanelpost: date +%s > /var/cpanel/version/edit_com
    cpanelpost: echo "edit_com=0" >> /var/cpanel/features/default


    Try this:

    echo "edit_com=0" >> /var/cpanel/features/default

    Please check to see if its already in there. This is something we DEFINITELY DO NOT WHAT SHOWING UP BY DEFAULT.
     
  3. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    CoolMike, Perhaps you should not be offering your clients the EDGE version then ;)
     
  4. CoolMike

    CoolMike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think all new features should be disabled by default. I really don't want to hear from my customers that there is a new fuction which we don't even know about.

    Michael
     
  5. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This is disabled by default in cPanel. In WHM, the link will be present for the root user so they can activate the service if they choose. The link takes you to a cPanel / WHM page explaining the service, not directly to any external page.
     
  6. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes this is already in there, and so still showing up.
     
  7. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So, you're trying to remove the link from WHM? How would the user enable such a link then? WHM root users links are always enabled by default. This won't show on reseller or cPanel accounts.
     
  8. rone

    rone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I only checked if it was possible to remove this button I didn't try anything at all.
    I know it won't show up in Resellers or cPanel account's. It just don't belong there and it looks to much on a other panel this way.

    I just wan't know why I get this button in my panel and how long does it take the second one will show up??

    It gives me the feeling that I have to pay for a "advertisement" (spam) "Button" in my panel and so for me it is just not right this is not the way I like to do business.
     
    #8 rone, Jul 4, 2007
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2007
Loading...

Share This Page