The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spamd Child

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jones, Sep 24, 2004.

  1. Jones

    Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Before I only saw running 1 process for Spamd:

    root 13643 0.0 2.0 23892 19948 ? SN 07:58 0:00 /usr/bin/spamd -d

    After the upgrade, I got this:

    root 15754 0.0 2.2 25360 21504 ? SN 08:11 0:01 spamd child
    root 15755 0.0 2.2 25348 21500 ? SN 08:11 0:00 spamd child
    root 15756 0.0 2.1 25096 21244 ? SN 08:11 0:00 spamd child
    root 15757 0.0 2.2 25228 21372 ? SN 08:11 0:00 spamd child
    root 15758 0.0 2.1 25088 21216 ? SN 08:11 0:00 spamd child


    My question: Is it possible to disable spamd child or turn it off and how?

    It is eating a lot of memory. If Spamd Child is off, will it affect anything when it comes in filtering spam messages?

    Looking for your prompt answer.


    Thanks,
    Jones
     
  2. mr.wonderful

    mr.wonderful BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can turn off spamd from WHM. There are two or three places to do that. Spamd is only used for those users who have enabled Spamassassin from their control panel however im thinking of turning it off as well since we are filtering everyones email serverwide so whats the use of letting users turn on Spamassassin if we are filtering every message? I really dont see the point in leaving spamd running.
     
  3. Jones

    Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for the reply.

    I know how to turn off spamd in WHM but if I turned it off, my clients will not be able to use spamassasin in Cpanel right? So I don't like to turn it off.

    I know there is some way to not to run these spamd child thing....


    Thanks,
    Jones


     
  4. markhard

    markhard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i want to know how to turn off "spamd child" too, any body know how to turn it off? it's using alot of RAM.
     
  5. manghooli

    manghooli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    same problem here
     
  6. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    causing plenty memory usage .. any solutions yet .. ?
     
  7. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ps aux | grep spamd | wc -l
    7



    yup it started after spamassassin upgrade to 3.0
     
  8. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Any info on this?
     
  9. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
  10. goodmove

    goodmove Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When you say "filtering server wide", do you mean you are running SpamAssassin alongside MailScanner?
     
  11. beachtrader

    beachtrader Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We are also having this problem as well on several servers. It appears spamd will get stuck on several domains and then each day open new processes on the domains. It would be nice to be able to downgrade...
     
  12. cguimont

    cguimont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had this problem too.. But after a while.. Spamd stabilized to take less memory.
     
  13. Jones

    Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Solution for me

    Well, I searched and searched and searched and can't find any solution about this spamd child thing....

    Later, I was able to find a very interesting solutions for my server and it really helps me block/reject spams coming to my box not only filtering... work like a heaven to me! because of this, I can disable spamassasin and never worry about spams again.... No more memory over load or CPU.... :)

    Anyway, here is the link http://forum.ev1servers.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=34689 .


    Enjoy!
     
  14. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    same problem here , a lot of spamd eating cpu
     
  15. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    according to some searching on spamassassin mail list archives (http://search.gmane.org/search.php?query=&group=gmane.mail.spam.spamassassin.general) this is now default behaviour...

     
  16. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    thats not great news then .. top sorted by memory usage ...

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME CPU COMMAND
    9240 root 15 0 30256 29M 1812 S 0.0 2.8 0:14 3 spamd
    9242 root 15 0 22868 21M 1844 S 0.0 2.1 0:08 3 spamd
    9243 root 16 0 22548 21M 1772 S 0.0 2.1 0:08 3 spamd
    9239 root 15 0 22172 20M 1968 S 0.0 2.0 0:09 2 spamd
    9233 root 25 0 18880 17M 948 S 0.0 1.7 0:00 0 spamd
    9468 mysql 15 0 19736 15M 1828 S 0.0 1.5 0:01 2 mysqld
    9241 root 15 0 22524 15M 1808 S 0.0 1.5 0:10 3 spamd
     
  17. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    That's normal with SA3.0.0
    If your servers are getting to busy, then it's time perhaps for a separate dedicated mail server.

    I often feel amused when i read the writings on the Wall ....

    Host Unlimited Domains
    Host Unlimited Database
    Host Unlimited POP Accounts....

    Well those offering that need to be on cluster setup and not the usual 99$ server deal from just about any other service provider round the corner

    :D:D

    Anup
     
  18. nettigritty

    nettigritty Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    do point me to a provider that offers dual xeons with HT at $99 :) with true 24/7 round the clock service thats reliable!

    its not really a concern but we like keeping our loads (really) low.. too busy is out of the question - so obviously trying to put a check on whats using most resources.
     
  19. anup123

    anup123 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    This Planet
    Hey it was in totality that it was to be interpretted.
    I have found many cases when ppl boast of 120GB SCSI drives on their site.
    Well Dual Xeon Or Not, no server can hold _Unlimited_ (domains, mysql db, pop a/c, subdomains and what not) which is normally offered as an _Apparent_Attraction_

    Point i am trying to stress upon is that split the applications to it's own dedicated box in a cluster setup if performance is a concern :)

    Nice stuff that you run from @mail :)

    Anup
     
  20. techniman

    techniman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    in /etc/rc.d/init.d/exim find the line that starts spamd, it looks like:

    $DAEMONIZE /usr/bin/spamd -d

    change that line to:

    $DAEMONIZE /usr/bin/spamd -d -allowed-ips=127.0.0.1 --pidfile=/var/run/spamd.pid --max-children=[the number of children you want]

    then restart exim:
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/exim restart


    this works for me, hope it does the same for you.

    E. Vrolijk
    RedAnt
    www.redant.nl
     
Loading...

Share This Page