The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spamd Hangs with 100% CPU Load

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by a.sheipani, May 3, 2008.

  1. a.sheipani

    a.sheipani Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all
    i have a problem that happens frequently,
    i find spmad processes using 100% cpu and running for very long times which causes high server issues.
    however, all these processes are always running under a certain user.
    i checked that user and i found he exceeded maximum quota, i modified the quota but that didn't help with the hanged processes.
    any idea on how to approach this problem?
     
  2. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I've seen it happen for the following reasons:

    Account is over it's quota
    Email account is over it's quota
     
  3. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucharest
    Beside those, another reason might be a lock file in /home/user/.spamassassin/ directory (or a broken file there).
     
  4. a.sheipani

    a.sheipani Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well i have increased all the quotas.
    and how can i approach that lock file thing??
     
  5. d_t

    d_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bucharest
    stop exim and check if there is any lock file for the user with high CPU load. remove those files and restart exim.

    but first check if the problem still appear - it may be solved after you increased the quotas.
     
Loading...

Share This Page