The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Special FTP for Sub-Domain ?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mr_Roboto, Feb 26, 2016.

  1. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have a problem, I have a domain followed by a sub-domain. I have a few FTP accounts and two Special FTP accounts. The problem arises when I want to log-in to my sub-domain FTP account and I'm denied while I have no problems with my Special FTP accounts.

    Can I create a special FTP account for my sub-domain so it's separate from my main domain ?
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I want to know can I create a special FTP account for my sub-domain so it's separate from my main domain ?

    I already have full FTP account access.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure what you mean by "special" in that context.

    You can create an addon FTP account by selecting the subdomain from the menu on the FTP accounts page.

    If you'd like your subdomain and all parts of it to be separate from your main domain, you'd need to create a whole new account via WHM using the subdomain. You might want to speak with your Hosting Provider about this if that's what you want. As a Website Owner you wouldn't have the proper access for creating new cPanel accounts.
     
  5. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner


    There are FTP Accounts and;

    My main domain is a Special FTP account. One can't create a Special FTP account from a SubDomain :(

     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    That's because your main domain is your cPanel user, a Special FTP account. You can create, or ask your Hosting Provider to create for you, since you have no WHM access, a new cPanel account using your subdomain.
     
  7. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    How can I create a new cPanel account using my subdomain, if possible ?

    The only option I see is creating a FTP account for the sub-domain.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    As mentioned, you can't. Only a Reseller or root user can create new accounts.
     
  9. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I mentioned I could create because you said, I could ! :)

    A FTP of a sub-domain requires the login of the Special FTP aka the main domain; but there is no public_html directory etc ?
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, my full sentence clarifies.

    I'm not exactly sure what the second part of your message means. When you create a subdomain it has its own public_html directory, yes.
     
  11. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    After I created a sub-domain and logged into that sub-domain all I see is /root, there is no public_html directory ?

    Logging into another FTP account I have for the same sub-domain lists only a cgi-bin directory and a directory of the name of the FTP login, no public_html directory ?
     
  12. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    When you create a subdomain and do not specify the directory, the system will default to /home/cpanelusername/public_html/subdomain/ that is your subdomain public_html/ directory.
    When you create an addon FTP account and do not specify the directory, the system will default to:
    home/cpanelusername/public_html/example.com/ftpusername/

    I'm lost at this point trying to figure out how to help you with this. Is it the word "special" that's making you think you need a "special" FTP user account for your subdomain?
     
  13. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I have two FTP accounts setup for the same sub-domain, I may not need two but at this time, I have two. And so, in my situation, when I don't specify a directory the system defaults to /root/NameOfFTPLogin as well, there is a CGI-Bin directory, that is logging in to one of the FTP accounts.

    When I log into the second FTP account for the same sub-domain the system defaults to /root, nothing related to the paths to which you say should be listed ?
     
  14. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No cPanel account should be accessing a directory called /root.
    Assuming one is for the actual subdomain account, the second, an addon FTP account.

    You won't see any paths I mentioned, its the location you are at when you login.
     
  15. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yes, but it is ! :confused:


    What do you mean by that in bold ? The main aka Special FTP account I can see the public_html directory why isn't it the same ?
     
  16. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  17. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I am reading your posts.

    How do know what directory to specify, if I don't know what directory exists ? You even said that one shouldn't have access to /root to which I do ?

    The system as I was mentioning; is not defaulting too either of the two paths you mention, regardless of the two FTP accounts I log into.

    Would you rather I make a short video to clarify ?
     
  18. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    No need, but thanks. Root access to the server and to the root directory should not be possible for a Website Owner, as your forums profile suggests. If you have root access to that server you should not be using root's password for FTP access.

    The 2 paths/locations I mentioned above, can be seen when you create a subdomain or addon FTP account right there on that interface where you're creating them at.
     
  19. Mr_Roboto

    Mr_Roboto Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Toronto
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    The 2 path / locations should be created automatically when creating a FTP account for a add-on domain ?
     
  20. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,446
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm not sure I understand your question. When you create an addon FTP account for an addon domain, the path for the FTP addon domain is shown to you on creation. You can modify it past the /home/cpanelusername/ part to be where ever you want it to be.
     
Loading...

Share This Page