The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SPF, Domain Keys and Other SMTP Server

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by noworyz, Feb 20, 2008.

1. noworyz

noworyz Registered

I have enabled SPF, Domain Keys for my domain on my server and have a question.

I use Apple Mail with pop account and my ISP has blocked port 25 it seems as I can't get it to authenticate. Is it s a problem to use my ISP's outgoing server? I am just wondering if having the SPF and DK enabled would mess with the outgoing emails that are using a different outgoing mail server.

I am kinda new to the email hosting thing so I could be completely off base here. Thanks for your help!

2. Arhineus

Arhineus Well-Known Member

Have you tried an alternate port?

3. blkjck

blkjck Well-Known Member

Enable port 26 on exim from the service manager, change your client to use port 26. You can also use smtp pop3 ssl ports also. This will bypass your ISP block on port 25. This block is quite common and has nothing to do with enabling domainkeys or SPF. If you decide to use your ISP for sending emails that use your domain as the return you will need to update SPF record to say your ISP's IP or mx name is permitted to send email on behalf of your domain. Once your client connects to the server on port 26 or SSL your ISP is no longer part of the process of mail being delivered.

4. Kent Brockman

Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I'm afraid of implementing that setting. Does this affect how the contact forms send emails? does this affect or must be reconfigured at any mailing system? (like them using phpmailer: Wordpress, mailing lists, etc)

And remember to give advice to all the clients how to change their pop3 settings in order to receive emails.

5. blkjck

blkjck Well-Known Member