The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SPF installation cause A records change

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by atlanticomp, May 14, 2013.

  1. atlanticomp

    atlanticomp Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there !

    We have a dedicated server (CLOUDLINUX 6.4 x86_64 standard) with WHM 11.36.1 (build 6).

    When i tried to install SPF record on a domain (using command /usr/local/cpanel/bin/spf_installer username), it changes the A records to that main server IP address.

    We have many domains that have WWW record pointing to other IP address than the main server.

    How can we workaround this ?

    Thanks & Regards !

    Carlos
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you describe the behavior you are experiencing a little more? Is the SPF record itself added with the wrong IP address, or is using the SPF installer actually modifying the primary "A" record for the domain name itself?

    Thank you.
     
  3. atlanticomp

    atlanticomp Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Michael !

    It wasn't the SPF IP itselft but the primary A record for the domain itselft.

    To be honest and because we have many accounts and don't know which of them have SPF records we have runned this command:

    for user in `ls /var/cpanel/users`; do /usr/local/cpanel/bin/spf_installer $user; done

    ...and for DKIM we used:

    for user in `ls /var/cpanel/users`; do /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dkim_keys_install $user; done

    Then we noted some clients that only have a DNS parked domain redirecting to other servers, that A record was changed.

    What could be the problem?

    Regards!

    Carlos
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket so we can attempt to reproduce this behavior on your server? You can open a ticket via:

    Submit A Ticket

    Please post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. atlanticomp

    atlanticomp Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, just posted.

    The ticket number is: 4184487
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To update, this issue was not reproducible. It appears it may have been related to previous DNS Zones that have since been manually overwritten during a restore by the provider.

    Thank you.
     
  7. atlanticomp

    atlanticomp Registered

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes Michael, i confirm it.

    I tried again, and now it didn't happen.

    Everything worked fine.

    Thanks for your precious help !

    Regards,

    Carlos
     
  8. NaSRi

    NaSRi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What about New users ? Does it install for new cpanel accounts ?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,852
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, in "WHM Home » Server Configuration » Tweak Settings", under the "Domains" tab, you can enable the following option:

    "Enable SPF on domains for newly created accounts"

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page