The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SPF is not enabled for newly created cPanels

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by postcd, Mar 5, 2015.

  1. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    my newly created cPanels have option "Enable SPF on this account" not ticked (disabled)
    even i have in WHM/Server Configuration/Tweak Settings option "Enable SPF on domains for newly created accounts" set to "On". I already tried tos et it Off and then On, but still newly created cpanels has SPF disabled (When i go to list accounts, Modiffy button for that newly created cpanel)

    enabling SPF for accounts work, that is not issue, but i want it enable for new cpanels automatically

    i dont wish to submit ticket, please let me know what i need to check

    thx
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The option you referenced is designed for use with:

    "WHM Home » Account Functions » Create a New Account"

    It does not apply to:

    "WHM Home » Account Functions » Modify an Account"

    To clarify, is the option not automatically checked under "WHM Home » Account Functions » Create a New Account"?

    Thank you.
     
  3. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Accounts are created thru WHMCS billing system. Im not creating them manually...
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To help determine if this is a bug with WHMCS, could you review "WHM Home » Account Functions » Create a New Account" and let us know if the SPF option is ticked? If so, the issue is isolated to WHMCS. You can reach their forums at:

    WHMCS Forums

    Thank you.
     
  5. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thx, Yes, on "Create a New Account" page in WHM, it is checked. I will ask WHMCS. thank you
     
  6. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello, here is reaction from WHMCS point of view. They tells it is an WHM issue maybe?

     
  7. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Yes, it's true that account creation with our API does not respect the "Enable SPF on domains for newly created accounts" value configured in "WHM >> Tweak Settings". Thus, developers must utilize "spf=1" when using the createacct module to ensure a SPF record is created. The best way to see a change in this behavior is submit a feature request for it via:

    Submit A Feature Request

    Thank you.
     
  8. dazeck

    dazeck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just found out I have the same problem and found this thread, so please answer why we need to submit a feature request to fix a bug. Why should WHMCS developers add spf=1 as I may have auto spf switched off in tweak settings, how are they to know. The API should directly reflect what the system does. Please fix this bug.
     
  9. postcd

    postcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
  10. dazeck

    dazeck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    England
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It shouldn't be a feature request, it's clearly a bug. How does WHMCS or any other 3rd party application know if I have auto spf set in tweak settings - Answer, they don't they call the API and expect it to read and adhere to the settings.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Thank you for your feedback. We've now addressed this issue with internal case number 192877 so the setting will apply to accounts created with our API. The change is scheduled for inclusion with cPanel version 11.50.1, and you can monitor our change log for the case number to see when it's released:

    11.50 Change Log

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page