Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SPF Record for parked domains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GoWilkes, Apr 1, 2014.

  1. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have several domains parked and email forwarded to one main domain.

    But the question is, do I need an SPF record on each of those domains, or just the main one?

    If I need it on each one, I found this script that is supposed to let you add an SPF record to every account:

    Code:
    cd /var/cpanel/users
    for i in `ls /var/cpanel/users` ;do /usr/local/cpanel/bin/spf_installer $i ;done
    
    Assuming that this is still valid, how do I customize it to add a specific SPF to each domain? Like:

    Code:
    "v=spf1 +a +mx +ip4:123.45.67.89 -all"
    
     
  2. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You will have to edit the zone file for the domain and edit the SPF as required. Do you wish to set a customize SPF for every domain using this script ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Is there any particular reason you prefer to have a custom SPF record for each parked domain name instead of the standard SPF record that cPanel will generate for them?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    AFAIK, the standard one doesn't restrict it to the one IP, and uses a soft all instead of hard. If I have to create a record for each account, then I would want them all to be identical to first one.

    But is it even necessary for parked domains? I have one actual account, and 104 parked domains.
     
  5. es2alna

    es2alna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Egypt
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I guess it's not necessary to use SPF on parked domains.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    The following thread might be helpful if you want to utilize a custom SPF record for each domain name:

    SPF Custom Entry

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. GoWilkes

    GoWilkes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm still not entirely clear, Michael. That thread stated "f you only revise the initial entry, only the main domain will be changed to that new hard-coded IP, while parked, addon, and subdomains will not be."

    So, does that mean that parked and addon domains SHOULD have an SPF record?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,214
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, parked and addon domain names should have SPF records because they can send out email just like the primary domain name associated with the account can. If you enable a SPF record for an account, it adds it for the parked/addon domain names added to the account.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice