The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Split Data Prior to Full Backup?

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by LWF, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. LWF

    LWF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    When doing a Full backup in Cpanel and FTP to another location, as the destination, the backup will no longer complete. All details are correct and the backup completes, it just wont FTP. I think it is because my zip file is too large, over 2 GB. Is there a way to split this file before FTP.

    Thanks,

    L
     
    #1 LWF, Apr 25, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2016
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's not possible to split the backup archive. However, you can check and modify the upload size limit for FTP if you have root access to the remote FTP server.

    Thank you.
     
  3. LWF

    LWF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Thanks, yes I do have access, can you guide me on what to do, thanks. As I am a little lost.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you provide more information about the remote FTP server? Is it a cPanel server? If not, which FTP server software is utilized?

    Thank you.
     
  5. LWF

    LWF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi,

    Its not a cpanel server,Software used is Pure-FTPd.

    Thanks,
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Pure-FTPd documentation is found at:

    Pure-FTPd - Documentation

    However, since you have root access to this server, you could simply use the "Secure Copy (SCP)" option in cPanel when generating the backup archive. Simply enter a username/password that has SSH access to the destination server.

    Thank you.
     
  7. LWF

    LWF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Many thanks. I will see how we get on.
     
  8. LWF

    LWF Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Many thanks for your help, SCP was the way to go. Uses port 22.
    Great, thanks for your help.
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page