The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Splitting out Reseller and associated accounts to another server

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ladydi711, Jul 17, 2017.

Tags:
  1. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Hello,

    One of my resellers and I are going through an amicable separation after 15+ years of sharing a server. Migrating/moving the individual accounts are not an issue, but right now all of the domains on the server have the same name servers set at the domain registrars.

    I am looking for some guidance/suggestions on how to best split these up to make the migrations/moves as smooth as possible. I am not even certain about being able to have two sets of name servers on the same server in preparation for the split?

    Any thoughts/experience to get me pointed in the right direction?

    Thanks in Advance!
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You could setup two new name servers at the domain registrar of the reseller's domain name. Simply set them up using the IP addresses used for the existing name servers (it's acceptable to use the same IP addresses for multiple name servers). Then, add the "A" records for these name servers by editing the DNS zone of the domain name with "WHM >> Edit DNS Zone". Once this is setup, any domain names associated with this reseller can update their name servers at their domain registrars to the reseller's name servers. At that point, the reseller can update the name server IP addresses at the reseller domain name's registrar to new IP addresses associated with whichever server they choose to migrate to.

    Thank you.
     
  3. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Thanks, cPanelMichael! Is there anything that would need to be done on the existing WHM configuration for the nameservers?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, you'd want to add the "A" records for these name servers by editing the DNS zone of the domain name with "WHM >> Edit DNS Zone". You can also browse to "WHM Home » Resellers » Edit Reseller Nameservers and Privileges" if you want to modify the default name servers used in the DNS zones for new accounts added under the reseller.

    Thank you.
     
  5. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Thank you, cPanelMichael... In addition to the "A" records, will these also need "NS" records?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    New NS records are not required, unless you'd like to replace the NS records in the existing DNS zones for any domain names you plan to keep on the source server.

    Thank you.
     
  7. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Thanks again, cPanelMichael!

    Wanting to clarify what is needed at the registrar.

    So at the reseller registrar I end up with:
    ns1.mydomain.com 1.2.3.4
    ns2.mydomain.com 1.2.3.5
    ns1.hisdomain.com 1.2.3.4
    ns2.hisdomain.com 1.2.3.5

    So both are pointing to the same to nameservers before the split?

    Thanks in Advance!
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,173
    Likes Received:
    1,295
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that shows that both sets of name servers use the same IP addresses.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page