The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SquirrelMail error opening default_pref

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by sneader, Feb 7, 2005.

  1. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a user that can use Horde and NeoMail, but he prefers SquirrelMail. However, when he logs in and clicks SquirrelMail, he gets:

    ERROR
    Error opening ../data/default_pref
    Default preference file not found or not readable!
    Please contact your system administrator and report this error.

    This is only happening for one customer. I've deleted and recreated their mailbox, and run the fixmailbox thing and still no go. Any leads?

    I am trying to find where the data/default_pref file is located, but not finding it where the SquirrelMail site suggests it should be (/etc).

    Sorry for the newbie question! Thanks in advance for your help.

    - Scott
     
  2. dholden

    dholden Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    For me the file is in smdata, you may need to a chmod 777 on the file.

    - Dean
     
  3. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    (embarrassed) -- where did you find smdata?
     
  4. Slav

    Slav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I noticed this in the edge reelase i think its not done right as i had thre same issue, i at the end went back to last stable reelase.
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    same problem here on a couple boxes on edge builds
     
  6. Slav

    Slav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    there is also a issue with horde too. where you seelctt he language andd then it logs you back to where you were and it just loops.
     
  7. Slav

    Slav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    one thing i noticed that after you got o edge, some mailboxes get lost and reset to zero. :(
     
  8. groefie

    groefie Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The same problem here with the edge build :(

    I'm using the edge because it's the only build that has fixed the problem with terminating an account in whm on fedora.
     
  9. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Quick fix for this.

    In SSH as root:

    Code:
    cd /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/squirrelmail
    mkdir data
    cd data
    vi default_pref
    #Add the following to the file
    full_name=
    reply_to=
    show_html_default=0
    sort=0
    #Save and exit
    
    The error should now be gone.
     
  10. groefie

    groefie Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks! That works fine :D
     
  11. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Edge had (IMO) a very important fix in that they eliminated the need for the data directory. It appears that they missed something along the way, as I had this problem on one of my servers today.

    A simple /scripts/upcp --force resolved this issue for me, and might be better than creating a directory that cpanel intentionally got rid of.
     
  12. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That's a very good point. Which Edge level corrected it for you?
     
    #12 dgbaker, Feb 9, 2005
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2005
  13. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    According to the change log, for build 51:

    Eliminate the need for /usr/local/cpanel/base/3rdparty/squirrelmail/data

    I just did the fix today, so that is the one that 'fixed' it.
     
  14. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That's wierd cause the reason I ask is that on Edge 78 this was an issue for us as well.
     
  15. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    That is why I had to use the force flag.
     
  16. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    hey dq ..i was bit by this as well so I made that data folder and pref file. Fixed my problem. Then I forced an upcp and the data folder is gone now ..but the problem is still fixed. So it must have been an incomplete edge build we got.

    Force upcp and I think you will find you are ok.
     
  17. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well, not with this one server. I'll have to look a little further. Thanks.
     
  18. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,578
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just as an FYI, if the upcp --force does not work, just do the following

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/base
    rm -Rf sqmail* squirrelmail
    cd /scripts/
    upcp --force

    That was the final way for one of our servers.
     
  19. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Gutsy call! :)
     
  20. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks dgbaker -- worked for me !!!

    - Scott
     
Loading...

Share This Page