The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSH connection timeout

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yogev, Sep 26, 2015.

  1. yogev

    yogev Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
  2. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Make sure you are using port 2222
    You also need to make sure you are using an SSH key since they disable password authentication, if you follow what you linked step by step you will get in.
     
  3. yogev

    yogev Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yeah I (and another developer from different computer) did this article step by step. it's really weird.
    I'm new to cPanel but i thought that the guide is good.

    Can you think of something else that i might forgot?

    PS thanks for the quick answer :)
     
  4. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    What host are you trying to connect to
     
  5. yogev

    yogev Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    What do you mean?
    It's my server if that is the question.

    Or are you asking for the OS of the server?

    I thought of something but i'm not sure if it could cause the problem. my default folder on the server is password protected.
     
  6. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Are you using putty to connect? If so, it should be asking for a hostname to connect to.
    It wouldn't matter if the folder is password protected as it wouldn't be throwing a timeout message.
     
  7. yogev

    yogev Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Yeah, i've put my Shared IP Address from cPanel. I also tried using the default domain name.

    It's a linux server

    EDIT:

    yes i'm using putty
     
  8. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Do you mind me asking the IP of the server?
     
  9. yogev

    yogev Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well, i'm not quite aware of the risks it's involved by posing it. how could it be helpful? (sorry for asking i really don't know)
     
  10. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There is really no risk since anyone can ping your domain and find the IP, I was merely asking so I can see if I have the same issue as you which would indicate an issue that only your host can fix.
     
    yogev likes this.
  11. yogev

    yogev Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    null
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Oh ok, so if it is how can it be solved?
     
  12. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Well the port is supposed to be 2222 based on that article, if the connection fails (times out) it means its a different port not shown on that article or they might have to allow your IP specifically to the firewall. Either way, you may be better off just opening a ticket with them as there isn't to much we can do on the forum other than confirm its not accessible.
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I suggest opening a support ticket with your hosting provider if the instructions they are providing do not work as expected. Please update us with the outcome should you choose to do so.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page