The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSH, passwords and clients

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by iLLuSi0nS, Nov 2, 2008.

1. iLLuSi0nS

iLLuSi0nS Active Member

I am a web designer and use dreamweaver to work on all my clients websites. I dont like using FTP (too unsecure) and would rather use SFTP to login to my clients accounts, but SFTP wont allow you to use your customers username and your root password to login (with FTP you can) , you must use their password.

So my question is, is there something I can do? What do you guys suggest? Is there a way of seeing your clients password without resetting it? I dont want to ask the client for their passwords especially since I have so many and people change passwords all the time. I just want to be able to use 1 password for all my clients, but I would never login with my root password over regular unsecure FTP. What can I do?

2. sirotex

sirotex Well-Known Member

Lol? Are you serious right now?

the reason you cannot login to SFTP is because ssh isnt enabled on there Account. Why would your customers want to give you SSH access? it's far more insecure for them to give you that so you can, dare i say it, root there box? There is not much wrong with FTP afterall you're only uploading an Website..

3. iLLuSi0nS

iLLuSi0nS Active Member

First of all, you need to stop assuming people are idiots, not everyone is stupid like you think.

SSH is enabled for all my users, and the reason they would want to give me ssh access is because it is my server in the first place, and they are just users, none of them even know what ssh is. I can easily ssh into my entire server as root and do it that way, but the files that I create will automatically become owned by "root" instead of their username which will defeat the purpose of things and give errors with suhosin.