The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSH Problems

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Techwebhosting, Oct 29, 2008.

  1. Techwebhosting

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello all, I am new here and I am trying out cpanel again, its taken big changes since I last checked it out. Anyway my problem is basically that ssh is constantly not working. I dont know if it is crashing or I am being blocked from using it. I can get to the server itself so I can get any outputs that might be needed but I cant ssh to it from anywhere. I did go in to whm and setup the access list for it, and added the ip address from where I would be working and then it worked for a little while and then stopped again. When I restart the server it dosen't work and if I restart the service using whm it says it restarted fine but I still cant connect.

    Any thoughts?

    Also if you need any output or logs of any type please let me know, also its the newest version of cpanel and its a completely default install right now, I was going to go on and harden it and do all of that but then ssh started acting up so I decided to wait.


    Any help is appricated, Thanks!
     
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you connecting to SSH as root, wheel user or just a regular cPanel user?
     
  3. Techwebhosting

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I could use ssh I would connect as root, I am also using root at the server itself, like at the rack in the data center. I have setup a few cpanel servers before and never had this problem.
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The quickest solution to this would be to have our technical analysts take a look so they can provide a definitive reason for why this is happening and take corrective action if needed. You can start this process by submitting a support ticket.

    The first thing I would do in your situation would be to go to WHM -> Security -> Security Center -> cPHulk Brute Force Protection and click "Flush DB" and see if SSH worked. If so, then someone is attempting to brute force SSH, and you may wish to consider moving SSH to another port.

    However, as I said, the quickest and most definitive answers would come from our technical analysts taking a look at your server.
     
  5. phpserver

    phpserver Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Eastleigh,Nairobi
    SSh

    Sorry for jumping in like this.I need to ask you this.I have generated an ssh key and i have authorized its use on my cpanel.I want to connect to this directory./var.How do i do that?.
     
Loading...

Share This Page