Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SSH Restart Failed

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jackg164, Jun 1, 2011.

  1. jackg164

    jackg164 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello!

    I have detected this error when I try restart SSH from WHM:

    Code:
    SSH Server...
    
    Waiting for sshd to restart...............finished.
    
    sshd (/usr/sbin/sshd) running as root with PID 30595
    
    sshd: [ != SSH]
    sshd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    
    ...Done
    This is a bug?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you running SSH on a port other than 22 on the machine?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jackg164

    jackg164 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Yes, is other port and always I have used other port for more security.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,889
    Likes Received:
    1,814
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The restart option for SSH in Web Host Manager is port aware, so using a non standard port should not result in it failing. Could you let us know the build of cPanel you are using:

    Code:
    # cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jackg164

    jackg164 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Using 11.30.0.25
    But I have other server with version 11.28.87 and this error does not appears
     
    #5 jackg164, Jun 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice