Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SSL appears even without SSL certificate installed on a domain

Discussion in 'Security' started by RafaelEbarola, Apr 23, 2019.

  1. RafaelEbarola

    RafaelEbarola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    SOS guys,

    I have observed that SSL appears even without SSL certificate installed on a domain in a google search bar.

    A I'm missing something?

    Or this issue is due to google analytics?

    Thanks for the help guys.
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive! PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    143
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You probably have autossl turned on which installs free certs on every account.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    azadeh69 likes this.
  3. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    There's also the fact that if you're sure you don't have any SSL including AutoSSL's certificate installed if you're behind a CDN like CloudFlare they will automatically provision a certificate for the cached version of your site.

    You can see if your site has an SSL installed from cPanel>>Security>>SSL/TLS -> Install and Manage SSL for your Site
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    azadeh69 likes this.
  4. RafaelEbarola

    RafaelEbarola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I already disable and even enable Manage Auto SSL and still nothing happened. Google search still shows HTTPS on my domain2.com

    The thing is, I have standard SSL installed on one of my domain but installed under its sub-domain "payments.domain.com" but why is it, the other domain2.com has https://www.domain2.com on google search
     
  5. RafaelEbarola

    RafaelEbarola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Yes sir, even CDN crypto option under cloudflare has been disable but still HTTPS on my domain2.com appears on google search.
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @RafaelEbarola

    You can confirm whether or not you have a certificate by checking "Install and Manage SSL for your site" as I indicated previously. You can also learn a lot about the SSL and what provider issued it by using tools like SSL Checker - SSL Certificate Verify
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. RafaelEbarola

    RafaelEbarola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    I have 3 standard SSL in my account that I installed all to a sub-domain. I think I need to suspend all the SSL for now. Is there anyway to suspend SSL cerfiticate w/o rekeying it or switching to new domain?

    My SSL is from Godaddy.

    It given me too much headache
     
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You'd need to click "Uninstall" next to the certificate. If you did choose to install it again you wouldn't need to have it rekeyed but you would need to have the certificate and all the necessary parts saved somewhere
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. RafaelEbarola

    RafaelEbarola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can't find it under version 78.0.21 of cpanel.

    Already enable auto SSL and disable again it's auto SSL under manage auto SSL and unfortunately no luck.

    I do have cloudflare and disable everything there under SSL settings that might affect on my domain.
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Can you please open a ticket using the link in my signature? Once open please reply with the Ticket ID here so that we can update this thread with the resolution once the ticket is resolved.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. RafaelEbarola

    RafaelEbarola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Philippines
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    He
    Here's mt ticket number: Your Support Request ID is: 12250495
     
  12. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    5,715
    Likes Received:
    436
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @RafaelEbarola


    I checked in on this ticket and it appears to have already been resolved. It looks like the analyst found that there was some confusion, as there was no certificate on the site. You can visit sites that don't have a certificate over https but you will get a warning which is what was occurring in this instance.


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice