The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL Cert from Rackshack

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hugo24, Apr 17, 2003.

  1. hugo24

    hugo24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I am going to buy the QUICK SSL from Rackshack. According to their sales response, it is for a domain certificate.

    The question is, will it definitely suits me? I am using it for one of my domain name for payment area.

    And can I use it as https://secure.domain.com ?

    By the way, has anyone buy from rackshack before? Any problem encounter so far? The problem is they do not have installation for CPANEL...:mad: and was informed that they do not provide any means of support.:eek:
     
  2. Woogs

    Woogs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes I just bought a bunch of certificates from them - not one of them works. I'd rather throw myself off a bridge and then run over by a truck than ever use their awful service again.

    They don't even provide support and blame cpanel. My Thwate, Verisign, and InstantSSL certs work just fine. Back to InstantSSL I go.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. pirania1

    pirania1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    You did something wrong then, I have bought bunch of certs via RS and had no problems at all.
    Quick (instant) delivery, least of hassles and GREAT price - what could be more perfect?

    They are after all SSL certs, same as any other - so problems are by your side only.
     
    #3 pirania1, Aug 12, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2003
  4. Woogs

    Woogs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  5. php-dawg

    php-dawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Rackshack's SSL certs work great, they are nothing more than GeoTrust's Instant SSL certs for a fraction of the price.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. php-dawg

    php-dawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    Removed double post...
     
  7. Woogs

    Woogs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Are you using it with cPanel? If so did you have to install a CA? What is the trick to get it to work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. Woogs

    Woogs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    N/m I got it working after manually installing the GlobalSign CA.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. php-dawg

    php-dawg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    After receiving the cert, I clicked on "Install an SSL Certificate and Setup the Domain", copied and pasted the cert in the .crt file area, entered the domain name and user name, copied and pasted the key and it automatically installs the cabundle. Then click "Do It" - That's all there is to it. Just make sure that you include:

    -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----

    -----END CERTIFICATE-----

    -----BEGIN RSA PRIVATE KEY-----

    -----END RSA PRIVATE KEY-----

    If you don't they will not work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. Woogs

    Woogs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks.

    It did not automatically install my CA bundle, I had to do it manually, but it is working now.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. manokiss

    manokiss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    woogs, please can you put me in the right direction about the ca bundle, i have the same problem, i cant do the ca work

    thanks in advance

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. Woogs

    Woogs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Give this a try as I can't find where I put the CA bundle. This worked for me in addition to using the CA bundle manually.

    In your CRT, when you paste it in.

    -----BEGIN CERTIFICATE-----
    After that line put your curser and then hit "enter". You should see nothing happens, but depending on how you pasted your CSR to RackShack it may have wrapped to the first line. This will move it to the second line and then the key and bundle will automatically work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page