SSL Cert on hostname Not cPanel Services

ndennis

Registered
Jul 2, 2010
4
0
51
Hi,

I have purchased and installed a Comodo ssl cert. on my WHM for cpanel/webmail/ftp etc using Manage SSL hosts on my server and it works fine.

Now i want to install the cert to the hostname of the server which is the same address as what cpanel uses but when i go to Install a SSL in WHM and enter the hostname and cert etc i get.

The domain “hostname” is not managed on this server. You must specify an IP address to install SSL for “hostname” or set up this domain on a new account, or create it as parked domain, a subdomain, or an addon domain of an existing account, and try again.

So how do i do this?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
Hello :)

SSL certificates for services should be installed via:

"WHM Home » Service Configuration » Manage Service SSL Certificates"

If you are installing a certificate directly for Apache for the hostname, you must select an IP address.

Thank you.
 

ndennis

Registered
Jul 2, 2010
4
0
51
Hi, Please understand. I have already installed the ssl for CPANEL services and i'm trying to install it to the server hostname

When i go to Install an SSL Certificate on a Domain

DOMAIN
hostname / server.tld.com

IP Address (non-user domains only):
***.***.**.** (shared ip)

Certificate
(Pasted)

Private Key
(Pasted)

CA Bundle
(pasted)

When i click install i get an error saying:

The user “system” does not exist.

So how do i install the cert onto the hostname, I've kept reading about having to enter "Nobody" as the user but where do i do this?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
Please try moving the following file out of the way:

/var/cpanel/users/system

EX:

Code:
mv /var/cpanel/users/system /root/
/scripts/updateuserdomains
Thank you.
 

ndennis

Registered
Jul 2, 2010
4
0
51
Okay thanks. It has been installed now and works on the hostname. Do i have to move that system folder back to /var/cpanel/users ?
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
That file is not required unless you have a specific need for DNS Zone ownership to the system or root user.

Thank you.
 

SamStone

Registered
May 9, 2014
2
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I've followed the above instruction but still get the error: The user “system” does not exist.

I've searched all over the web and found no solution. Please help.

Thanks!

Sam
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
I've followed the above instruction but still get the error: The user “system” does not exist.
Please provide more details about which instructions you followed. What exact steps did you take to resolve the issue, and what steps are you taking when experiencing the error message?

Thank you.
 

qspider

Registered
Jul 28, 2013
4
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Please try moving the following file out of the way:

/var/cpanel/users/system

EX:

Code:
mv /var/cpanel/users/system /root/
/scripts/updateuserdomains
Thank you.
I'm getting the same error. When I try this
Code:
mv /var/cpanel/users/system /root/
/scripts/updateuserdomains
No such file or directory.


When I navigate to
Code:
mv /var/cpanel/users/system 

There is no system file or folder in that directory. 

[code][email protected] [/var/cpanel/users]# dir
./  ../  exciteme
[email protected] [/var/cpanel/users]#
 

cPanelMichael

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 11, 2011
47,913
2,201
363
Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

Thank you.
 

qspider

Registered
Jul 28, 2013
4
0
1
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
The problem is resolved. The issue was caused by user error. :) We were using "Manage SSL Hosts", and not "Manage Service SSL Certificates" to install the SSL cert for the Hostname.
 

durangod

Well-Known Member
May 12, 2012
502
45
78
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
Yes i think i made the same mistake when i did mine. Its strange because the feature access in whm for cert are in two dif sections where you expect all cert management to be in one. So you naturally think your in the right place. But when you see the the other one then your like oh ok now it makes sense. :) Just remember that having a SSL on your host name will play a bit with your email as well, instead of mail.domain.com youll need to use hostname.domain.com in some places. Just check your help box on cPanel for mail config on any mail account to see it its changed or not. It all depends on the rest of your config options.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bhadazz

durangod

Well-Known Member
May 12, 2012
502
45
78
cPanel Access Level
Website Owner
AS far as i know you cant share it like that. Also not all cert companies will provide a wildcard that will cover both the hosting domain and the hostname so be careful with that as well. They told me they could not because of some tech reason which i dont remember because i cant find my old thread here on this forum for which i was going to share. But i kinda think maybe its so they can sell two cert instead of one ya know.

But anyway if i find my old post here i will share it with you here, until then here is a similar one that i went thru the process as well over on WH forum /http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=1400987

- - - Updated - - -

and here is another link that might help too.. Thats not the exact one i was looking for but it might help

http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/adding-features-hostname-cpanel-so-i-can-install-cert-422031.html

and this one too..

http://forums.cpanel.net/f34/forwarding-ip-url-whm-hostname-422261.html

as you can see i had a hard time grasping everything lol :) but the fried bologna sandwhich was still yummy lol