The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSl certificate - Browser Warning

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fearnothing, May 28, 2006.

  1. fearnothing

    fearnothing Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Everyone - first posting, so if I have the protocol wrong please let me know!

    Problem is I have obtained a RapidSSL single root Certificate for a www domain which is on a dedicated IP. It is my dedicated server and I have full root access.

    The certificate has installed (after a bit of prodding) but I am being challenged about the certificate not being a Trusted Authority etc. in the (IE) browser although the certificate itself gets ticks in the other boxes.

    I have amended everything including adding an entry into the httpd.conf file to point to the ca-bundle but still I'm getting the browser message.

    I'm getting word down after ploughing through forums for the last 24 hours - anyone out there that can help walk through the steps and check it out with me?

    The box is running CentOS

    Do I need a server certificate? The one at the moment is self-signed, but I wouldn't have thought it would affect a domain sitting on the server?

    Many thanks in anticipation. FN
     
  2. msquared

    msquared Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  3. fearnothing

    fearnothing Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Definitely for the www version. I have the mod rewrites in place to redirect the non-www verisions as well.

    You can take a look at https://www.smartchoicemusic.com
     
  4. fearnothing

    fearnothing Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    An invaluable piece of information that was eventually provided by a forumista on the X-Cart forum.

    There is a bug in WHM that prevents the Installation of SSL Certificates. It results in a greying (or graying?) out of the 'Do It' button and generates a script error.

    This bug only appears when using IE - Try the same action using Firefox and everything works straight out of the box.

    Everything is now in order :D
     
  5. nsvr

    nsvr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Internet Explorer might give a security popup about unsecure items at your site. This is because you include items from an insecure site.

    For example, in the img src tag i see http:// which should be https://, and thats why it gives security conflict warnings.

    If you dont include the full path in the image tag, it will automatically get the image from the https:// site and not http://.
     
  6. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had a similar problem, and it ended up that the Flash file I was using caused problems. Even though I specified the location of the flash file to be on my https site, flash had a link to macromedia's site:


    Code:
    <object width="400" height="400" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000">
          <param value="../norman.swf" name="movie" />
    
          <param value="high" name="quality" />
          <embed width="400" height="400" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" quality="high" src="../norman.swf" /></object>
    The line http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer caused a problem, thanging it to https://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer solved the problem

    This could also cause a problem:
    Code:
    http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer
    Anything in your HTML code which doesn't refer to a HTTPS link will give that message, even if it's just a link...

    hth
     
Loading...

Share This Page