Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SSl certificate - Browser Warning

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by fearnothing, May 28, 2006.

  1. fearnothing

    fearnothing Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hi Everyone - first posting, so if I have the protocol wrong please let me know!

    Problem is I have obtained a RapidSSL single root Certificate for a www domain which is on a dedicated IP. It is my dedicated server and I have full root access.

    The certificate has installed (after a bit of prodding) but I am being challenged about the certificate not being a Trusted Authority etc. in the (IE) browser although the certificate itself gets ticks in the other boxes.

    I have amended everything including adding an entry into the httpd.conf file to point to the ca-bundle but still I'm getting the browser message.

    I'm getting word down after ploughing through forums for the last 24 hours - anyone out there that can help walk through the steps and check it out with me?

    The box is running CentOS

    Do I need a server certificate? The one at the moment is self-signed, but I wouldn't have thought it would affect a domain sitting on the server?

    Many thanks in anticipation. FN
     
  2. msquared

    msquared Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  3. fearnothing

    fearnothing Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Definitely for the www version. I have the mod rewrites in place to redirect the non-www verisions as well.

    You can take a look at https://www.smartchoicemusic.com
     
  4. fearnothing

    fearnothing Registered

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    An invaluable piece of information that was eventually provided by a forumista on the X-Cart forum.

    There is a bug in WHM that prevents the Installation of SSL Certificates. It results in a greying (or graying?) out of the 'Do It' button and generates a script error.

    This bug only appears when using IE - Try the same action using Firefox and everything works straight out of the box.

    Everything is now in order :D
     
  5. nsvr

    nsvr Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Internet Explorer might give a security popup about unsecure items at your site. This is because you include items from an insecure site.

    For example, in the img src tag i see http:// which should be https://, and thats why it gives security conflict warnings.

    If you dont include the full path in the image tag, it will automatically get the image from the https:// site and not http://.
     
  6. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had a similar problem, and it ended up that the Flash file I was using caused problems. Even though I specified the location of the flash file to be on my https site, flash had a link to macromedia's site:


    Code:
    <object width="400" height="400" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000">
          <param value="../norman.swf" name="movie" />
    
          <param value="high" name="quality" />
          <embed width="400" height="400" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" quality="high" src="../norman.swf" /></object>
    The line http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer caused a problem, thanging it to https://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer solved the problem

    This could also cause a problem:
    Code:
    http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer
    Anything in your HTML code which doesn't refer to a HTTPS link will give that message, even if it's just a link...

    hth
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice