The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL Certificate error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by j666gak, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. j666gak

    j666gak Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    I am hoping that somebody can please help me. I bought an SSL certificate over the weekend and tried to install it on my VPS (Virtual Private Server) through WHM and it gave an error message about a dedicated IP, I am confused as I haven't seen anywhere that you need a dedicated IP for a domain???

    Can anybody shed any light on this?


    Thanks
    Guy
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You do not need a dedicated IP for a domain.

    You *do* need 1 dedicated IP address for every SSL website. This is due to how the technology works, no way around it. You will need to first give the site a dedicated IP and then you can add the SSL cert.
     
  3. EEKdood

    EEKdood Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want to install this certificate as a shared certificate or for system service (mail, ftp, cpanel, webmail), you need to install it under user 'nobody'. In order to attach the certificate to a single cpanel account, that account must have a dedicated IP.
     
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    User nobody where? If you are installing them in WHM you need to do it as root.

    As far as the services, everything runs as a different user. Apache without suphp is what runs as nobody.
     
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    While logged-in as root, yes, but when filling the form to install the shared SSL certificate, for example, the domain could be the hostname and the username could be user "nobody" -- this is only referring to what could be entered in the form when installing a new SSL certificate via WHM.

    For additional reference about installing SSL certificates via WHM, I recommend our documentation as seen below:
    InstallCert < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki
    ManageSslHosts < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki
     
  6. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
Loading...

Share This Page