Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SSL Certificate error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by j666gak, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. j666gak

    j666gak Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Hello,

    I am hoping that somebody can please help me. I bought an SSL certificate over the weekend and tried to install it on my VPS (Virtual Private Server) through WHM and it gave an error message about a dedicated IP, I am confused as I haven't seen anywhere that you need a dedicated IP for a domain???

    Can anybody shed any light on this?


    Thanks
    Guy
     
  2. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You do not need a dedicated IP for a domain.

    You *do* need 1 dedicated IP address for every SSL website. This is due to how the technology works, no way around it. You will need to first give the site a dedicated IP and then you can add the SSL cert.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. EEKdood

    EEKdood Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you want to install this certificate as a shared certificate or for system service (mail, ftp, cpanel, webmail), you need to install it under user 'nobody'. In order to attach the certificate to a single cpanel account, that account must have a dedicated IP.
     
  4. eth00

    eth00 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    723
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    NC
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    User nobody where? If you are installing them in WHM you need to do it as root.

    As far as the services, everything runs as a different user. Apache without suphp is what runs as nobody.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    268
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    While logged-in as root, yes, but when filling the form to install the shared SSL certificate, for example, the domain could be the hostname and the username could be user "nobody" -- this is only referring to what could be entered in the form when installing a new SSL certificate via WHM.

    For additional reference about installing SSL certificates via WHM, I recommend our documentation as seen below:
    InstallCert < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki
    ManageSslHosts < AllDocumentation/WHMDocs < TWiki
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sharmaine001

    sharmaine001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice