Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED SSL certs for subdomains

Discussion in 'Security' started by Nicola Urbinati, Aug 4, 2018.

  1. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    After having created a domain, I automatically find my certs for cpanel, webmail, webdisk, autoconfig.

    whm, cpcalendars and cpcontacts are missing.

    How to get them generated and working?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,309
    Likes Received:
    393
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Give the system some time to do its checks. cPanel should automagically take care of the new domain soon. (AutoSSL!) :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I think the problem is somewhere else.
    When I create a domain (both primary or addon) the normal proxy subdomains are not created (only cpanel, webmail, webdisk, autoconfig, and whm after I made him a reseller). While autodiscover, cpcalendars and cpcontacts are missing.
    Are they supposed to be there or not?

    Thank you,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. RadWebHosting

    RadWebHosting Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    You might need to check DNS Functions » Edit Zone Templates in WHM if you have verified the proxy subdomains are configured in Tweak Settings.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I do not understand the different behaviour between the proxy subdomains, as in zone templates I do not see references to any of them.

    And they should be working out of the box, right?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @Nicola Urbinati,

    The cpcalendars and cpcontacts proxy subdomains are not included as part of the AutoSSL feature. I encourage you to vote and add feedback to the following feature request if this is something you'd like to see added to the product:

    AutoSSL support for cpcontacts / cpcalendars proxy subdomains.

    As far as the autodiscover proxy subdomain, check to ensure the following option is enabled under the Domains tab in WHM >> Tweak Settings:

    Thunderbird and Outlook autodiscover and autoconfig support (enables proxy subdomain and SRV record creation)

    This option controls whether the autodiscover proxy subdomain is enabled.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I have the option enabled, and autodiscover is present.
    Still, I do not see autoconfig, throuh.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can you confirm how you are checking for the existence of the autoconfig subdomain?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, let's say I must be confused because I see autodiscover among AutoSSL subdomains and autoconfig is not there.
    The subdomain is actually up and running.

    So: all subdomains running, autoconfig seems to be missing from the AutoSSL cycle.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,344
    Likes Received:
    1,852
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The autoconfig proxy subdomain isn't included as part of the subdomains secured via the AutoSSL feature. Do you have a specific need to secure that proxy subdomain? If so, can you provide some more information about the issue you are experiencing due the lack of a SSL certificate for this subdomain?

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Nicola Urbinati

    Nicola Urbinati Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2017
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Italy
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    No particular need, I was just expecting it, like autodiscover or others. If it's not needed, that's fine.

    By the way, they worked with Thunderbird but not with Outlook (Office 365).

    Thank you for the clarification!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    cPanelMichael likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice