The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SSL for Addon Domain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by erikcw, Aug 31, 2005.

  1. erikcw

    erikcw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi all,

    Is it possible to setup SSL for an addon domain?

    Thanks!
    Erik
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    IP address must be assigned to a domain with SSL.
     
  3. erikcw

    erikcw Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is it possible to setup an IP for an addon domain? Maybe by editing the httpd.conf and dns zone?
     
  4. westin

    westin Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would love this feature

    As a customer of a hosting provider who uses cPanel, I didn't realize that SSL could not be used with an add-on domain until after I had set everything up. Is there any way to assign an IP address to an add-on domain, or easily switch that add-on domain with the main domain without losing all of my set up mail aliases, databases, etc.?

    Greg
    ---
    http://www.gregwestin.com
     
  5. ravibagul

    ravibagul Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Addon -SSL

    Hi,

    Yes yo can do this by editing httpd.conf and dns zone for addon domain. :)



    Thanks.
     
  6. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Now that editing httpd.conf is taboo (we should be using EasyApache 3), is there a better answer to this question?

    I have the exact same situation, and would like to know if it is possible, and how...

    Thanks!

    - Scott
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Addon and Parked domains are treated as merely pointers, or masks, of the account's domain name and hence there is no simple method of providing them their own IP Address in order to provide SSL services.

    A simple method would be to split the Addon domain into its own cPanel account, whereupon an IP Address can be assigned to it using the tools within cPanel.

    Barring the Account method, our documentation at http://www.cpanel.net/support/docs/ea/ea3/customdirectives.html discusses the use of a VirtualHost specific template which should suffice.
     
Loading...

Share This Page