Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED SSL for aliases

Discussion in 'Security' started by rahnev, Sep 13, 2017.

  1. rahnev

    rahnev Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the following problem:

    1. maindomain.com has alias alias.com
    2. Generate SSL certificate for maindomain.com - it includes maindomain.com and www.maindomain.com (not via AutoSSL)
    3. Install SSL to maindomain.com
    4. SSL is installed also for alias.com but it is not valid and shows warning. I choose only the maindomain.com from Domain dropdown in Manage Installed SSL Websites in cPanel.

    Is there a way to install SSL only for main domain and not for alias?
     
  2. sparek-3

    sparek-3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,743
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    343
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just don't link to https://alias.com?
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Parked domains (aliases) cannot have their own separate SSL certificate because they do not have their own Virtual Host. You would have to remove the domain name as a parked domain and add it as an addon domain to allow for the installation of it's own SSL certificate, or to allow it to have no SSL certificate.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. rahnev

    rahnev Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks @cPanelMichael. That is what I wanted - If I install the SSL on the main domain, to be installed only on it and not on aliases. But as I can I have to add alias.com as addon domain and then it will be OK.
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  5. Jcats

    Jcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Sorry to bring up an old thread.

    Is it possible to have proxy subdomains working on an Alias domain? Example, on our LEMP stacks we use a seperate cPanel server for email, we give the user a cPanel account, they can then add their additional domains as Aliases for email, but noticed proxy subdomains do not work for Aliases. Assuming they need to be added as addons in this case?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,749
    Likes Received:
    1,884
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Could you provide some more details about how the account is configured? It's possible this relates to the issue discussed at:

    SSL subdomain issue

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice